Change is Scary

My grandmother hated change. She liked things to stay the way they were. When we moved an hour away she talked about it like we had moved out of the country. When they’d tear down an old building and put up a parking garage she’d complain about how it must have been more cost effective to just tear everything down rather than preserve what was there.

old vs. new

I saw this house on a recent visit to the city. Skyscrapers had built themselves around this little house. I’m not sure why this house survived and all the others around it didn’t but this one is for sale. Her days may be numbered.

amidst

Now I know what my grandmother was feeling. Change is unpredictable. Change doesn’t always respect the past. Change is scary.

9 Comments

Filed under off topic

9 responses to “Change is Scary

  1. I wish I were better at “going with the flow” where change is concerned. I stink at it…I blame my German father. Those damn rigid Germans!

    This house is such a great image–I’ll have to remember this the next time I get my panties in a wad about change.

  2. I hope there’s some sort of zoning or historical limitations that prohibit it from being bulldozed!

    Regardless of your opinions of change, I think most people can see the value of preserving a piece of “the way things were”

  3. Wow, what a cool house! Sometimes change is good and sometimes, well, not so much.

  4. I like that house and I like where it sits. Those old homes have far more character than the new ones they slap up in carbon copies of each other. What a shame.

  5. And what a pretty house, too! You’re right…it probably will go the way of the dodo. And that’s sad. Nothing pleases me more than to see a mix of old and new.

    I wanted to stop by and thank you for your sweet words on my last few posts. I really hesitated to hit “publish” on that last one…I didn’t want to be a whiner and I felt like my topic was sort of all over the place. (As compared with part 1.) Getting such kind comments has really helped to put my heart at ease.

    And book recommendations? LOVE THEM. I’m a reading fiend. I will have to add that book to my shelfari “to read” list!

    • No need to thank me. But thanks to you for stopping by to say so! I really DO think you’ll love that book (even the movie – it was fun to see what they did with it). Let me know when you get to it and what you thought!

  6. Look at all that brick work. It is a beautiful house. I hope whoever buys it has it moved and restored. Change is frighting but inevitable. We change from one moment to the next. It is the big changes we notice the most and have the hardest time accepting.

Leave a Reply

