Daily Archives: March 18, 2010

Jane Is Boycotting Self-Aggrandizing Blogs And You Should Too

We all want to be heard. We all hope someone is reading the words we put out there for the world to see. We all strive for our own definition of success.

But when a blog smacks of “Hey! Over here! Look at me! I want a book deal! I want a movie deal! I want any and all attention that can be afforded me!” I get a disgusted smirk on my face and I turn away.

Twice, in one day, I saw a headline on Yahoo News or MSN.com about a blog with a gimmick. (I’m not going to give links because I’m not positive of their true intentions – these are only my impressions.)

The first was a blog about a woman who was going to eat on $1 per day for an entire year. This blog reminded me of the couple that posed a similar challenge a few years ago. The woman is of modest means, struggling financially and then (blah, blah, blah) I lost interest. It started to reek of self-aggrandizement so I stopped reading.

The second was a blog that a woman started chronicling her quest to improve our school lunches. She’s going to eat her lunch at the school cafeteria, every school day for a year. It’s anonymous. It will include pictures of the pitiful lunches served. And she’s going to “jeopardize” her health to make her point.

Isn’t there a better way? Surely, for something so important as the food we put in our bodies, in our children’s bodies, you could think of a better gimmick to get your point to the masses. But, no. You’re going to eat food you find disgusting (ala Supersize Me) and it’s all for the children.

Don’t get me wrong. The cause is noble. But the method is┬ástale and old. I’m just tired of running into blogs that attract attention to themselves based on a gimmick. Feed my soul. Inspire me. But don’t pull out all the stops, waving your arms high in the air shouting, “Look at what an original, amazing human being I am!”

It’s all been done before.

So I have a secret…..Shhhhhh….lean in close……..

You’re not that original anymore.

29 Comments

Filed under Soapbox