And Then There’s The Television Series That Goes Down In Flames

I have many guilty pleasures. Many. Television is one of them.

Before you criticize my viewing habits, please know that I read. Real books. And not of the Harlequin romance variety. I enjoy the opera and the theater, too. I dabble in writing. I swim. I practice yoga. So you could say I’m comfortably well-rounded.

On the telly, I watch a little bit of everything. Drama, comedy, reality. The History Channel. The Weather Channel (but who doesn’t?).

And yes, I watch (don’t laugh) Big Love.

It’s the final season of the series. So the writers are pulling out all the stops. With every single unimaginable scenario imaginable.

I hate that.

But, I watch. Reluctantly. Because I’m hooked on the characters and I want to see the directions they take. But it gets to the point that I don’t care anymore. And I’m almost glad that I’m going to get an hour of my life back each week.

Yep.

I think the writers do it on purpose so you don’t miss the show too much when it’s finally gone.

11 Comments

Filed under Ponderings, television

11 responses to “And Then There’s The Television Series That Goes Down In Flames

  1. I watched it the first season, and then dropped cable. The characters were (are?) deep and interesting. But, I hate it when shows go crazy like that. Here’s to one more hour.

  2. Honey, have no shame. I’m a card-carrying member of the Dexter club, so I will throw no stones.

  3. Oh no. I like watching Big Love, but I’m a season behind. I hate when shows go downhill.

  4. I’m a season behind too. The final season is even crazier than this one? Hard to believe! I was just thinking that they were going a bit too far out there already. My new favorite show is An Idiot Abroad. Check it out if you haven’t seen it yet.

  5. I have never watched the show, but my sister swears by it. My personal Hour of Life & Brain Cells Wasted in less sophisticated. Yes, I am an avid Toddlers & Tiaras viewer, for no greater reason than to feel like a really great parent :)

  6. Interesting theory. I love Dexter too — and True Blood, since we’re in confessional mode. I even (hides face) watch Grey’s Anatomy sometimes. Whenever I tell people I don’t watch Reality TV I always hasten to add that I’m not judging them, I just like my ridiculous tv to be scripted and fictional.

  7. I’ve never seen this show, which is pretty shocking considering the things I have managed to catch. Sorry that I missed the series, I know a lot liked it.

  8. OK. No fair. My kid has already told me I’m utterly clueless about popular culture. (To quote him: “Mom! Everyone knows that! Where have you been?”)

    And now, television viewer that I am, I must admit that I’ve never heard of Big Love.

    Of course, I’ve never watched Survivor or Lost either. And a lot of other culturally enriching shows. But hey! I saw my first-ever episode of The Bachelor the other night. Do I get points for that?

    (Someone pass the remote in time for Top Chef…)

  9. Angela

    I’m no better, I feel that I am well rounded, I love to read just finished the trilogy of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Help and now reading Pride and Prejudice. Exercise when I can. I am a well educated computer graduate (setting the scene). However, I love anything to do with Bethanny – Housewives of New York, Bethanny Getting Married and looking forward to the start of Bethanny Ever After, and it goes on, if I miss a show that she is interviewed on e.g. The View, Chelsey Lately, I google it, obsessed or what?

    Anyway, I have never seen Big Love, heard about it, so just enjoy………… roll on 28th Feb @ 10/9c :)

  10. I’m totally with you! I feel compelled to watch since it’s the last season, but come on! These characters are very different from the first season of the show.

Leave a Reply

