Buy A Balloon. Help A Child. How Easy Is That?

A dear friend of mine has recently started fostering dogs. I admire her generous heart and am waiting to see if she’ll actually be able to let go of dear, sweet, little Abby when the time comes. Her latest crusade inspired me to dig deep and see if I could do the same thing.

Alas. No.

One cat and one dog is enough for this family. I know that when you foster an animal it eventually finds another home. But after cleaning up not one, not two but three disgusting throw-up piles this morning from a dog that never knows when to leave well enough (from pinecones to candy wrappers to fallen birdseed to whole tennis balls) alone, I’ve decided that fostering animals is not for me.

But there are other ways to help. MyOwnPet Ballons is sponsoring a program right now when you buy one of their balloon animals, and there are many to choose from, $5 will be donated to Canines For Disabled Kids (CDK). CDK is an organization that provides families trained assistance dogs for children with autism, hearing impairments and other disabilities.

If you’re in the market for one of these cute little balloon animals (think party favors) you can purchase them here.

If you want to donate to Canines For Kids directly, go here.

Either way, it’s a win-win.

4 Comments

Filed under Be-Causes

4 responses to “Buy A Balloon. Help A Child. How Easy Is That?

  1. I couldn’t foster a child for the same reasons, but admire those that can.

    I’ll check out the website now!

  2. I would love to take on another pet. I see adorable cats all the time where it is really hard to not snatch them up and bring them home.

    After I lost my best friend (still don’t know what happened to her) I resolved not to get any rebound pets for a while. Then my aunt called and said there were some kittens we could see if we wanted. I said, sure, I’ll look, but I’m not ready to bring them home.

    There were two kittens left from the litter. Just the last two. Both were adorable. I sat on the floor and played with them for 30 minutes, trying to pick one. I couldn’t so we got both, brother and sister. It’s the first time in my life I’ve ever raised two kittens from the same litter. So much for no rebounding.

    It was a good decision except the brother throws up a lot and the sister will spray our bed from time to time. They’re my babies, though, so they still get a lot of love.

    Yeah, I can understand your reluctance. I would love to get a Bengal cat but I’m restraining myself. I’ll buy a balloon instead.

  3. Your chow-happy pup makes me miss my sweet little (100-pound) Lab, who also has a penchant for eating the unordinary, from remote controls to phone books and is back in the States with friends. And we are always looking for new animal groups to support. Thank you for this!

  4. I want a second dog too…but it’s too impractical with our ‘no fence’ rule in the neighborhood. So maybe a balloon. Though I’m pretty sure Katie would not welcome even a balloon pet into the house…

Leave a Reply

