Theycallmejane. It’s Mine. Now Back Off!

OK. So I’m too cheap (and lazy) to purchase my domain name. Go ahead. Start rattling off the comments telling me how wrong I am. I’m listening. Sort of.  (Because remember, I’m cheap and lazy.)

But while researching another post idea (Yes, I research. Don’t act all surprised.) I stumbled across something weird in my stats. Upon further investigation, I discovered that someone else (whose name is also NOT Jane) is calling her blog…..

…wait for it…..

…wait for it…..

Theycallmejane.

Yep.

Written just like that. All one word.

On another free blog site. But still.

I’m trying to remind myself that imitation is a form of flattery. Or trying to give her the benefit of the doubt that maybe she’s never been here.

But when you started your blog, didn’t you Google the name you wanted, just to make sure no one else had it? I know I did. And just to make sure I’m not buried 17 pages deep when you Google me, I Googled me. There I am. Front and center. Very first thing that pops up.

Is she that lazy?

Now, I know the name of my blog isn’t all that creative. And, in a way, I stole it, too. From the lyrics of a Ting-Tings song.

“They call me Stacy. They call me Jane. That’s not my name. That’s not my name.”

I thought it was funny. You know. Because Jane isn’t my name.

But I like Jane. Jane represents a common voice. A connection to all the other women I was hoping to meet. Jane could be anyone’s thoughts, opinions, feelings. I was just the one who said them. For all of us Janes out there.

I still like Jane. Make that, I love Jane. And I love what she has evolved into. A blog about nothing and everything. And I don’t want to give her up or change her in any way.

And besides. I was here first. Back in August of 2009. Closing in on my third year in Blog World. And this impostor has had her blog, what? All of two months?

Crap.

I’m going to have to bite the bullet and purchase the domain name, aren’t I?

If it isn’t too late.

16 Comments

Filed under Blogging

16 responses to “Theycallmejane. It’s Mine. Now Back Off!

  1. Seriously? Someone has the same moniker? I know there are several Kitchen Witches out there…grrr.

  2. This is where I confess that I did not Google my blog name. When I started blogging I had no idea whatsoever it was such a large world and it never occurred to me someone else might use the same name. Now I’ll have to think about whether it would matter to me. I dunno.

  3. Hehe, how strange that someone would choose the same name when there is already one in use. I can’t be bothered to get a domain name either, too much hassle and more importantly, expense. However I know I’m safe because everytime anyone Googles idiosyncratic anything they end up on my page … ! I hadn’t realise that it was a pseudonym too. Decisions, decisions. :)

  4. Intriguing! I remember googling “motherese” when I first started blogging and learned that it was a brand of cloth diapers. Who knew? I also learned that I’d never be able to have motherese.com because it’s owned by a domain company and is for sale for some oddly large sum. Hence mothereseblog.com was born.

    Reading your post reminded me of when I first realized that your name wasn’t really “Jane.” You’re such a woman of mystery! :)

  5. Buy it!! I know it costs money but if you purchase it via your wordpress dashboard using the upgrade feature with domain mapping, I think it is only like $30 bucks (or something right around there). If you need help, let me know. Even though you “stole” the name from the song, I think your blog name is super-duper original and you shouldn’t let anyone steal it. Oh, and I totally never bothered to google any of my blog name ideas before using them. Whoops!

  6. I never googled my name either, um… not in the beginning. I grabbed it from a line out of Sex and the City which I tweaked… I was just experimenting (weren’t we all, sort of?)…

    But the short answer – YES – buy yourself. And stay just as Jane as you always were. You are the original. Uh, except perhaps for the really really really BIG Jane… Ms. Austen.

  7. Yes! It’s a relatively cheap way to keep you You.

    I googled my name. And bought the url right away. Because I didn’t want problems later. I bought my real name, too. For when I want another blog not kid-related.

  8. I never even really named my blog, had no idea what a blog WAS when I started nor that you could NAME them for heavens sake. Yes buy your name. BUT WAIT…your name ISN’T JANE????

  9. llcooljoe

    Wow, I never even thought about it when I named my blog, and I assumed there must be quite a few Joey’s Pads out there, but it doesn’t bother me at all. It’s a big world out there, and there’s still room for all of us. :)

  10. crimeandliterature

    I love your blog! I love your blog name! I would definitely buy it!!! And until I read this post – I thought your name was Jane. The fact that it isn’t makes your blog name all the better:)

  11. I have been contemplating this same thing, and I think I am going to bite the bullet and buy mine, too. Go for it!

  12. Yes, clearly you’ve given us all way too much credit. I never googled my blog name – I barely had the computer wherewithal to set up a blog. I had made the name up for some Google group I belonged to, so I used it. I think there is another Bibliomama out there but last I looked she hadn’t posted in years. There’s a Bibliomom too. Whatever. I was never going to be a brand. Oh, I didn’t know your name wasn’t really Jane, and I was happier that way – I hate not knowing someone’s real name! Hmph.

  13. Same here. There’s another Merrilymarylee out there somewhere, begun long after mine.

  14. I didn’t google my blog name. One of the perks of having a name like Rudri. :)

  15. Mine is the name of a Lithuanian song writer / group (and Amber also happens to be my name) – so I get miles of hits from that – mind you I can’t imagine thaey have any idea what I’m on about! LOL :0)

Leave a Reply

