Before I Was A Mom…

fall 05 (Custom)

…crying children were like nails on a chalkboard. Now? I frantically search until I find the source to make sure a parent is there taking care of the distraught little one.

…I slept as late as I wanted to on the weekends, which wasn’t very late, but still. I slept until I wanted to get up. Now? Wake up call in our house is 6am. Every day. Every. Single. Day.

…my husband and I could have a little romp in the hay, mid-afternoon, take a little nap afterwards and do it all over again. Now? We have to schedule time. And then keep/remember/have the energy for “the date.” Afterwards we say, “Mmmmm. That was nice. Let’s not wait 3 months for the next time, k?”

…having the money to go out was no big deal. We did what we felt like. When we felt like it. Now? We have to tack on $40-50 more to the budget for the babysitter. Ouch!

…I always remembered to shave my legs. Now? Please don’t look!

…I had seen every single Best Picture nominee for the Academy Awards. Printed out my ballots and threw a big bash so we could eat popcorn and Twizzlers and comment on the tuxes, dresses, and  speeches. Now? Do they still have those awards shows? After our nightly Curious George episode our tv is off.

…I loved my husband. Now? I adore, cherish, am continually amazed by, LOVE my husband. He is such a wonderful father.

…hugs were nice. Now? Hugs are sticky, slimy, sweet smelling, cozy little wonders all day long.

…my skin was fresh with not a wrinkle in sight. Now? I’ve earned every single “laugh line” quite honestly. My children set me into a fit of giggles at least once a day.

…I wondered how I was going to make a difference in the world. Now? I’m shaping the future with my bare hands.

(Sorry for the re-run. My sister is in town (for 10 days!) and she doesn’t even know I blog. And I’m not telling her now. So, I’m going to be a bit scarce. I’ll try to sneak online but in the meantime, here are a few of my favorite posts. Enjoy your week!)

7 Comments

Filed under children, Moms, Motherhood

7 responses to “Before I Was A Mom…

  1. I do get hugged a heck of a lot now that I’m a mom… you’re right though, the date life has gone downhill though. Probably the hugs help me forget that!

  2. This is beautiful! I feel like I could almost write this same post about teaching, which I know you relate to as well. Hope you are having a great time with your sis =)

  3. Great post and Oh, so true! Have fun with your sister.

  4. Lovely…makes me (almost) wish I had kids. Still…maybe it’s OK that I don’t. Have fun with sister…don’t be too sure she doesn’t know….my siblings read mine for a long time before I figured it out!

  5. Great post! Number 3 hits really close to home. I am sad to say.

  6. …I looked forward to vacations as time to sleep in, explore, experience new cuisines, and catch up on reading and talking.
    Now I call them relocations. I get up at the same ungodly time, explore, run around after other people on disparate schedules with disparate rhythms and disparate goals. I eat crusts left behind. I still learn a lot and feel refreshed, but come back needing a vacation from my relocation.

  7. Love this post. And it is so true. Enjoy the time with your sis!

Leave a Reply

