I’m Plugging My Ears And Singing La La La. Because It’s The Olympics. In Another Freakin’ Time Zone.

This was me before the Olympics:

 

This is me now that the Olympics have begun:

I love the Olympics. Especially the summer Olympics.

I’m a former competitive swimmer and coach.

My daughter is a former gymnast. She has even dabbled in rowing since we live so close to the Atlanta ’96 venue.

My boys are big into soccer and baseball.

I also love the internet. I log on in the morning to check emails and do a little banking. I log on in the afternoon to craft a blog post and sneak in a little blog reading.

My home page was msn.com. “Was” because they kept telling me the results of the swimming competition before I could see it on TV. So, I switched to yahoo.com. They were a little more vague about their headlines. Until a few days ago.

So, now, my home page is Google. With their cute, clever images:

I hate knowing the results before I’ve had a chance to experience it with the rest of the television viewing audience. Today when I logged on I found out the the women’s gymnastics team blah-blah-blah-blah and Michael Phelps blah-blah-blah-blah and it all won’t be televised until this evening.

That’s it. I’m done. No more news for me until after the Olympics are over.

I sure hope nothing earth-shattering happens between now and then.

If I need to know about it, would someone please shoot me an email?

6 Comments

Filed under In the News

6 responses to “I’m Plugging My Ears And Singing La La La. Because It’s The Olympics. In Another Freakin’ Time Zone.

  1. I’m so with you. I adore, adore, adore fencing, archwey, diving. I

  2. (Darn phone…)
    Always wanted to be a pentathlete.

    And I won’t watch broadcast tv with their lame comments and nobody-but-USA-matters attitude. So I’m streaming and watching YouTube after the events are done, so I’m avoiding the news like the plague.

    Because headlines are full of archers and fencers…
    ;-)

    • You’re catching the events on YouTube? Help me find the women’s 400IM. I missed it on TV and my sister and I are dying to see the controversy surrounding the finish. :)

  3. Avoiding the news seems to be a national pastime these days. Considering how much of the news is focused on the negative, I wonder how much the Olympics raises the moral of countries while it is on :)

  4. I was watching HLN’s Evening Express the other day, and the news anchor actually warned viewers that she was going to give away the Olympic results. She then said that if we didn’t want to hear it, to cover our ears and sing La-La-La. :)

    Not watching the news makes me a happier, less aggravated person. Unfortunately, how else can I stay informed?

  5. Relative to knowing what events are taking place, I’m finding that “The Google” helps.

    Relative to the time to watch anything?
    Nope. Nothing helps.

Leave a Reply

