My Family Was Safe. But So Many Others Were Not.

 

Every year, I tell myself that I’m not going to write about it. And every year, I can’t help myself. Such a pivotal moment in our nation’s history. Such a personal moment for me.

I was on my way to work. Running late. Listening to my favorite rock station. The rock jocks were known to be a bit crude, a bit inappropriate. I switched them on just as they were describing the first plane going into the towers. I thought, “This is a cruel joke. The station is definitely getting a letter!’ Then, when one of the disc jockey’s voices cracked and I could almost hear her tears, I knew it was real.

I sat at work. Trying to keep our students calm. Wanting to take my daughter out of class just a few buildings away and bring her home. But having to carry on. The administration wanted us to plug away, as usual. Distract the students. But how could we? We were a laptop school. Students were sneaking windows open to catch a glimpse on CNN.

Soon, students were being taken out of school. Parents confirming my initial instinct. We had a congressman’s son in class. Another boy’s aunt worked at the Pentagon. Countless parents traveled by air for business.

And then it hit. My brother-in-law worked in Detroit. He was an agent in Federal Law Enforcement. Because of his interrogation skills and expertise with the Middle East. My other sister, who flies twice weekly for business. Where is she? I sneak a call to my family. Yes, Henry has been called into work downtown. But so far, everything is okay. Yes, my other sister had been on her way to D.C. but her plane had been grounded.

My family was safe.

But so many others were not.

Never, never, never forget.

Never.

(Feel free to share your “Where Were You On 9/11″ moment in the comment section below.)

4 Comments

Filed under In the News

4 responses to “My Family Was Safe. But So Many Others Were Not.

  1. No, I’ll never forget.
    Like you, I was at work when it happened. I was holding a workshop for librarians and everyone’s cell phones kept ringing. We were completely unaware of what happened and kept going. It seemed so ridiculous in hindsight.

    As soon as we saw tv footage of what happened, I wanted to run to my son’s school and pick him up, but the school was on lockdown. Instead, my friend made me go to lunch. I felt like the world was coming to an end. I felt like it might be my last meal. I’d never been so scared in my life.

  2. The shock is still there nor should we allow those who were lost to be forgotten, both goods reasons to keep talking about it. :)

  3. I will never forget. I worked on the 44th floor of a high rise building in Dallas. As the news started trickling in we were all scared and a “whose next” mentality reigned over many office buildings that day. We were sent home early and then I remember just staring at the TV trying to digest what I was watching.

  4. I was trying to keep my staff calm. After work I was committed to working in a community garden. I and the other volunteer that evening picked bushels of tomatoes. We never spoke a word to each other, which was unusual. But in our heads we were screaming.

Leave a Reply

