Liar, Liar, Pants On Fire

Desperate for blog material, I did what any other self-respecting blogger would do.

I procrastinated.

I flitted about in Yahoo, learning about home invaders busted on Facebook, what Lady Gaga looked like at age 9 (Don’t click. Really. A waste of time.), and a gutsy woman who chases a bear from her home.

I did a little online banking. The good news? Beginning tomorrow another credit card balance will be at zero! The bad news? Bank account balances are fast approaching zero.

I goofed around on my favorite Disney message board site and learned about crowd levels between Christmas and New Years (Horrendous), next must try snack at EPCOT (Norway’s School Bread), and yet another awesome cast member story (Click here for original post.)

And I checked my email.

I found this interesting note in my inbox.

“I work with blahblahblah and we recently published an article you might be interested in.”

The title of said “article” was interesting and feeling a little lazy today, I actually entertained re-posting it.

“After following your blog for awhile now, I felt this article would be something that would interest your readers. Here’s the link…”

Hmmm. Following my blog for awhile? I’m flattered.

“Either way, your blog has been a sincere pleasure to read. Thanks for your time!”

A sincere pleasure to read. Always good to hear.

So, I scan my followers list. Nope. No Miss C. Maybe she has me bookmarked another way.

So, I click the link to the article. Yes. It’s a bona fide ¬†article. And interesting, too.

But it is plastered on a website that is an advertisement for something completely irrelevant to my readers. In fact, every link, sidebar and highlighted clicky thingy is unrelated to the article that drew me there in the first place.

I have half a mind to republish the article, without a link back to their site, and capitalize on the free material.

But that’s against my principles.

And besides.

Look at that.

Without even realizing it, I just got a free post.

Ha!

6 Comments

Filed under Blogging

6 responses to “Liar, Liar, Pants On Fire

  1. It sounds like your procrastination paid off! I am a big one to procrastinate. Sometimes the rush of a deadline makes me work better!

  2. I just came here to say how much I love the shot of your pants on fire. :D

  3. I agree with llcooljoe – I love the pants on fire :)

    Following blogs – I follow blogs that I don’t officially sign up to follow. Sometimes, it is because I can’t figure out what they want me to do to follow their blog (yes, I am challenged when it comes to these things); but, sometimes, it is because I am trying out a blog for a while before they start filling up my email inbox.

    The blogs that I follow, but I am not officially following by registerirng on their blog site, are bookmarked in a folder. I go to the folder regularly to check out the blogs. Most often, they end up as blogs I follow.

    By the way, in case you didn’t know, your blog is the first one I ever followed , and it is the first blog where I left a comment. Your blog is great :)

  4. Yeah, that ‘What in the heck do I write about today?” issue. (Or WTF, to be more honest, since we’re talking about setting my pants on fire otherwise.)

    You’re entertaining even when you don’t realize you’re entertaining, Jane.

    Now take the weekend off!

  5. It was the underwear on fire that I am smiling about….That is perfect. You need to keep that for future posts or when you are calling it out!

    Hope you are having a great fall!

    btw, cheers on getting that credit card balance to zero.

    Velva

Leave a Reply

