Crawl Back Under Your Rock, Lance Armstrong. We Don’t Care Anymore.

Lance Armstrong. Did he dope or is he just a dope?

You be the judge.

Or not.

Does anyone really care at this point?

Apparently, there are people who do. Or at least, Oprah would like us to think we should care.

All the latest hype is for a “no holds barred” interview with Oprah, to be aired Thursday, where he is finally ready to tell all. He is “calm…at ease and ready to speak candidly.” Again, I ask. Who cares?

arstrong

I am not an expert in drug enhanced sports performance. I did not follow every speck of the Lance Armstrong doping studies. But I followed enough to determine, for myself, that with the insane amount of information collected, the fact that he was stripped of all seven titles, and a chief executive of the USADA is willing to publicly say that it was the  “most sophisticated, professionalized and successful doping program that sport has ever seen?” I’m guessing, and it’s just a guess, that Lance Armstrong was guilty of taking  illegal sports enhancing drugs.

Seriously. Does anyone else doubt it?

And now, he’s going to appear on Oprah and it’s been leaked that he’s going to apologize and offer a “limited confession?”

He is an embarrassment. Not only because he took illegal drugs but because he denied it, vehemently, for years. He is reportedly worth $100 million.  He doesn’t need to confess. We know he’s guilty. He doesn’t need to apologize. We don’t care anymore.

Instead, he should be laughing all the way to the bank.

Or, at the very least, crawl back under the rock from which he came.

13 Comments

Filed under Observations, Soapbox

13 responses to “Crawl Back Under Your Rock, Lance Armstrong. We Don’t Care Anymore.

  1. Agreed. If I end up watching it would be to see what kind of excuses he could manage to come up. But I probably won’t since I can’t watch people embarrass themselves. Sort of like how i always wince when I watch will Farrell.

    on meet the press this Sunday, a commentator said he’s tired of the whole contrition culture that allows public figures to do something stupid out of their own free will and then simply apologize and expect us to forgive them. I can’t believe people are even suggesting that maybe if he apologizes, we will let him go back to compete. Seriously?!

    I really just want to ask him, have you no shame?

  2. Agreed, Jane. More publicity for someone who doesn’t really deserve any additional attention. . . But it is about ratings, right?

  3. NCMountainwoman

    I couldn’t agree more. He is a disgrace. So many cancer-stricken youngsters idolized him as a “role model”. And he allowed them to honor him.

  4. Lee

    In my opinion, what’s important is not what he says, but what he does. Is he going to put his financial skin in the game and make restitution to those he defrauded? Is he going to set himself up as an object lesson of how nobody is above the rules? Is he going to devote the rest of his life to serving others rather than winning for himself at all costs? It would be nice to hear a confession and an apology. But I’m much more interested in what he *does* after that.

    • I agree wholeheartedly! Great point!

    • I agree too it is all about what he does to show the honorable way he corrects the mess he created for monetary gain. Once trust has been dashed to the ground by lies it is hard without actions to prove your honor in march to forgiveness. Or is this a march back into the lime light with still more lies and part truths. Stay tuned because only time will tell alone with his actions.

  5. I don’t even know who he is! That’s how much I care!

  6. I used to follow him as a hero, a triumph of will against cancer and debilitating, soul-sucking depression. I spent my honeymoon following his third Tour de France through the most gorgeous countryside, cheering for him because I thought he was an amazing athlete. And he was. But he cheated. And as evidence mounted, he insulted detractors, lied about colleagues, and pushed everyone under the bus to save his reputation.

    What does he say to his children? “Everyone else cheats, so I did, too?” Or “I almost died so I felt I had nothing to lose?” Or “I’m a cocky sonofabitch who never failed at anything so I cheated to make myself look good?”

    I’d be angry if I didn’t know that every single pro athlete cheats. I’m still angry about that, I’m angry that he left his wife and children in a cloud of hubris, lying and cheating his way to money and an empty soul.

    I’m angry that he lied. I hate lying. And I hate that we have to hear more about him. He dissociated his name with LiveStrong long ago, because he knew he was tainted and would bring them down. That he goes back now to apologize before he cowers beneath Ms. W’s glare means that he’s bringing the LiveStrong organization back into the shitlight he’s created. That he draws to everything he touches.

    So I’m angry for the patients and survivors who will now question the organization because the founder is a cretin.

    Blech. I’m angry. Did I mention I hate liars?

  7. I agree. I don’t care. I did once but I don’t any more. Let him and Oprah work it out…I won’t be tuning in. Lance needs to go away.

  8. Right on! I couldn’t agree more. I propose that we turn the name Armstrong into a verb that means: “to cheat.”

    Ex: Those medical students really armstronged their exams.

    P.S. I told y’all long ago how to identify cheaters in almost any human activity. Look for those that are #1. It works almost every single time. It’s just that easy.

  9. Absolutely do not care what he does or what he says. It’s been obvious for years that he was cheating and lying about it. Nuff said. Won’t watch the interview and in fact this taints my feelings about Oprah. Don’t intend to read about it, or watch it. He’s not worth my time.

Leave a Reply

