The Weather Channel. Or The Guys Who Cry Wolf. Weekly.

The Weather Channel is responsible for my anxiety and I’m ticked.

The Storm of the Century of the Week.

I can’t take it anymore. And it’s only January.

I live in the part of the country where snowfall is occasional. Once or twice a year. Ice storms are more probable. When the weather calls for rain during freezing temps everyone is set into a panic. Hence, the picture I posted a few years ago:

photo1

They sent us into a panic last week. They did it again last night. And this time, they closed schools for today.

Don’t get me wrong. I am enjoying this impromptu “snow” day with my kids. Games, cookie baking and even out to lunch with friends. Because as it stands, we’ve yet to see any of the Storm of the Century of the Week.

What I don’t enjoy are the stern-faced-alarming-voiced-weatherpeople breaking into my favorite television program showing us the latest radar map with predictions that rarely come true. I’m learning that weather is unpredictable and man cannot control the outcome no matter how hard our meteorologists try.

Oh sure, they’d love to see us covered in ice, trucks swirling off the roads into ditches, icicles dripping off trees and power lines. It all makes for great television. It’s what they live for.

What they really need to do is swallow a chill pill and take the wait and see approach.

But instead, it’s another Storm of the Century of the Week.

Which is named, Winter Storm Khan.

Yes. You heard right. They are now naming winter storms.

Hurricanes, I get. Even tropical storms.

But snow? We’re going to start naming a bunch of snowflakes and ice?

What’s next? Naming every bout of rainfall and thunderstorm that we have?

Hurricanes are devastating and cruel. They wreck havoc like no other. And I admit, so can snow and ice storms. But typically, not in the same way. With a hurricane comes devastating flooding, water damage that takes months to fix. The vast majority of areas that are attacked by snow storms like Khan are prepared. They have snow plows and salt trucks, snow tires and hot chocolate aplenty.

So what’s up with naming a little snow storm? Are meteorologists that bored with their jobs? Do they feel put out when the main newscasters steal their thunder, reporting on the storm before their paltry little 5 minutes at the end of the news hour? Or is The Weather Channel striving to be relevant by pumping up a storm and it’s potential for damage?

Pretty soon, we’re going to be calling The Weather Channel the guys who cry wolf. Weekly.

And when we need to race to the store to clear the shelves of milk and bread?

We won’t be listening.

On a side note, I must admit, Khan is an awfully great name for a snow storm. But won’t they be sorry when this storm passes and they wasted “Khan” when they could have saved it for when Storm Nemo comes along?

Poor Nemo. That cute little guy doesn’t look menacing at all. 

finding-nemo-wallpaper-036-1024

6 Comments

Filed under I'm Baffled (And Because I Love The Word Baffled), Ponderings

6 responses to “The Weather Channel. Or The Guys Who Cry Wolf. Weekly.

  1. You would think with the law of averages they weather people would get it right once in awhile—Not so in Chicago. Even, the poor little old lady, with her shopping bags at the bus stop bracing herself against the below 0 cold, wind, snow, sleet, and ice that shows up on everyone’s national news cast is fed up with the Chicago weather people and has moved to Arizona. I think they are interviewing for a replacement, tho….

  2. The fun thing about that is if you get caught downtown in the ice and can’t make it home, you are entitled to get out of your car, look up at the sky and scream, “Khan!!! Khan!!! Khan!!!”

    I think part of it must be fear of getting blamed in case they didn’t say something. A bunch of people would then say, “Why didn’t you tell us?”

    We had a freezing rain warning this week and the temperature hit 55 degrees. We had be warned (via official advisory) a “cold front” was moving in.

    Your picture proves that it doesn’t matter if the threats are real or not. The belief alone is enough to create a situation.

    BTW, fear sells.

  3. The same thing happens here all the time. The slightest hint of rain have the weather folks crying that there’s going to be a “Noreaster”, a term that seems to be applied regardless of which type of storm it is or where it s coming from.

    It’s gotten so bad that my wife and I use the term Noreaster as a private joke to point out when someone is making a mountain out of a molehill.

    The problem is that alarming people does great things for ratings. Then again so does sex. I wonder if that means we are going to see naked people crying wolf in the near future… Hmmm…that might actually make the weather worth watching again :)

  4. Here too. Now they’re telling us ice will begin falling from the sky Sunday tomorrow afternoon and continue thru Monday’s rush hour. Husband thinks I should go tomorrow morning down to the town I work in and stay in a hotel. Which would mean my car would be outside all night getting covered in ice. My option is that if it’s bad I stay home. How’s that for a plan? :) Odds are it will be fine…we’ll see.

  5. I so agree about how annoying it is to have the meteorologist or weather person break into programming to tell us about a storm. Naming snow storms? I hadn’t heard of that.

    Once when I was in Texas, driving across country with my two little ones, hauling all of our belongings in a Uhaul with the car in tow, to meet up with my husband in California where he had started a new job months before, I woke up in the morning to find a snow storm and a dead battery in the truck. It was cold. I turned on the Weather Channel to find out whether I was getting out of Texas that day. They didn’t even mention that it was snowing when they showed the “local weather on the 8′s” every 8 minutes. Not once for hours did they mention the snow. Once the battery was charged, I just got in my truck and drove out of Texas. It snowed the whole time.

  6. I’m convinced they’re lonely when hurricane season is over. They’re sad that hurricane and tropical storm names are predetermined and boring. So Draco and Khan and all other evil fictional characters get snowfall.

    It’s a sad, lonely job, being wrong all the time.
    ;-)

Leave a Reply

