The First Week Of School Has Kicked My Butt. And It Hasn’t Even Gotten Crazy Yet.

The first week of school has kicked my butt and it hasn’t even gotten crazy around here yet. Next week is when we add swim practice, baseball and Cub Scouts to the schedule. This week it’s just been school.

Just four days of school.

That’s it.

As much as I enjoyed our summer (and we had a fabulous summer!) I craved the routine that makes the school year. The week before school began I could barely contain my glee. Oh sure, I’d miss my kids but our wake-up times, leave times, come home times, dinner times and bed times would finally be in sync.

Bliss.

Or not.

First day: no homework (yay!) but #1son’s backpack and the required 2-inch binder broke. Back to Target.

Second day: Homework. Not too taxing. Everyone was happy with their results but it took longer than expected and dinner was late. Oh, and #2son has decided that school lunches are gross. So now, it’s back to making lunches in the morning. For one child. Other child calls school lunches “gourmet.” And the recent-school-lunch-hater’s Buzz Lightyear lunchbox from 3 years ago simply will not do. Back to Target. And Publix for lunch meat.

Third day: More homework. This time a research project. Over the summer we brilliantly put in place a net-nanny system on the computer upstairs that requires me to punch in a password for every new website they visit. Every. Single. One. Who’s brilliant idea was this? Oh yeah. Darling husband who isn’t home during the day when the boys use the computer. Project (finally) finished but need a clear folder to place it in. Back to Target.

Fourth day: I’ve been in a daze. I can’t think. I can’t focus. Pulled in different directions, I can’t seem to finish a project. I can’t sit still because I keep thinking I’m forgetting something.

target

Guess I’ll go back to Target.

Because Target hasn’t failed me yet.

5 Comments

Filed under All In A Day's Work

5 responses to “The First Week Of School Has Kicked My Butt. And It Hasn’t Even Gotten Crazy Yet.

  1. Target is an amazing store isn’t it? Apart from when they won’t sell me any wine.

  2. Sounds like you’re all off to a crazy start. We start school next week, so I’m sure our list of ‘things that we NEED’ will change daily, like yours.

  3. Maybe you should move to a house closer to Target. This is why I’m staying out of all stores that remotely might possibly have back to school shoppers. Until about October.

  4. I know EXACTLY what you are talking about. I think we are starting week two. My three kids are in three different schools this year. They all start at the same time and are in different directions. No one will eat in the school cafeterias. I can’t help with my 17 yo’s math anymore.

  5. We are about to start…hold me!

Leave a Reply

