Uh-Oh. Jane’s On Her Soapbox. Again.

We are a reactionary society.

And we have a very short attention span.

And we love ice cream. But I digress.

I have a love/hate relationship with the media. It’s where I get all my news. So, I am both dependent on media and love it for providing me with my news fix. It’s also where I get all my news. So, I am both dependent on media and hate it for distorting the facts.

But media is so sassy. Media says, “We only print what you want to read. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it.”

Someone ought to put Media in a time out.

Sassy thing.

First it was Paula Deen and now it’s Duck Dynasty Phil.

Now, please, don’t get me wrong. Racism is wrong. Homophobia is just plain stupid. But the last time I checked, we still have free speech in this country. If celebrities have bone-headed opinions, let ‘em have ‘em. They can say what they want. And then we, in turn, can stop buying their product if what they’ve said bothers us so much.

What annoys me to heaven and back is the way Media jumps on one phrase, taken out of context, and twists it into something that could be taken offensively. And then, gives us a huge teaser headline, tells 1/3 of the story and says, “the end.”

I’m left saying, “Whaaaaat?”

And so I research. And  I read 4 other articles about the same topic, only to discover that what Paula Deen allegedly did was years and years ago and what Duck Dynasty Phil said referred to his far-right, religious faith. Really? Was anyone truly surprised that he doesn’t feel homosexuals should marry?

Yes. Celebrities should be role models. But we can’t count on that. Just ask Charles Barkley.

And the media should tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Period. Give us the facts. All of the facts and let us decide if we agree, disagree or can agree to disagree.

It’s that simple.

(Yes, I was cryptic when discussing what Duck Dynasty Phil said. I find his comments irrelevant and ridiculous. But if you’re so inclined, you can educate yourself here and here and here.)

7 Comments

Filed under Soapbox

7 responses to “Uh-Oh. Jane’s On Her Soapbox. Again.

  1. So what about the Duck Guy story bothers you?

  2. I agree in free speech too, anyone who has a blog has to surely? I don’t know Duck Dynasty, and have never watched it so I can’t really give an opinion, but I attend a Baptist church and have done so most of my life that is totally Bible based, and of course if you read the Bible and follow the teachings it does say that homosexuality is a sin. But ….. as I’ve said so many, many times, The Bible was written hundreds of years ago, times have changed, women had to cover their hair and weren’t allowed to preach, that has changed, so many other things have changed too, and a modern Christian’s attitude to Homosexuality has changed too. But it’s slow, you know, there are still many in my church that battle with it, and they are allowed their views as long as I’m allowed mine.

    Oh, and the Bible isn’t that keen on transgenders too, but I’ve known and loved the Lord since I was a teen, and I know he loves me too, whatever my gender.

  3. NCMountainwoman

    I agree that the media is biased and unfair. But I think the problem with Phil wasn’t so much what he said, but the way he chose to say it. He was spiteful, hurtful and mean-spirited. If you haven’t already, I suggest that you listen to some of his vitriol, (there’s plenty of video) especially his statements about how happy the black people were before the de-segregation laws. Same song was sung about them being so happy as slaves in the field. I applaud A&E although I must admit I have never watch the show.

  4. Agree he’s got the right to express his feelings…we have the right to watch or not watch him, which to A&E should be all they care about.

  5. I didn’t keep up with this story since I don’t watch the show. But you’re right about the media. It’s over the top.

  6. There was a day when reporters did hard news. Opinions were saved for the editor’s page in the paper or a commentary at the end of the news.

    Not telling the whole story? That is not reporting. And is it really newsworthy if Phil on Duck Dynasty speaks about his religious beliefs?

    There is so much news going on in Syria, Lebanon, Egypt, Sudan, etc. But, apparently, we would rather hear about celebrities who have lost the right to free speech.

  7. Nice rant. When I really want to learn about a topic, I try to find all sides. Sadly, I often don’t have time to do that. Your notion of voting with dollars completely resonates with me but I think more can embrace the idea.

Leave a Reply

