May You Rest In Peace, Sweet Boy

This is not supposed to happen to MY baby girl. This happens to you other mothers out there. Not that I wish it on you. Of course not. I wouldn’t wish this on anyone. But I’m just as bad as you teenagers out there. Thinking you’re invincible. Thinking that you’re so grown up. Thinking life won’t throw you devastating curve balls.

A sweet, kind, funny, adorable soul left this earth tonight and he was just 17. A senior in high school. His whole life ahead of him. And my daughter loved him. With all her heart. Her first “true love.”

I’m shocked. This CAN’T be happening. This happens in the movies. On TV. To other people. Not me. How do you help your daughter through something like this? I want to fix it. Rewind the tape. Stop all this from happening. Why? Why? Why?

I’m angry. How dare you take a piece of my daughter’s heart and then steal it away, never to give it back? How dare you treat your life so carelessly? Life is a precious gift. You threw your life back at God’s face. My daughter will never get to say goodbye, tell you how much she loved you ever again.

I’m scared. I want my daughter even closer now. Why do our children have to grow away from us? Make decisions that are risky, wrong, damaging? Why can’t we keep them close? Help them with EVERY stage? Keep them from every harm. Ward off danger. Wrap them in bubble wrap. Hold their tender hands always.

Go. Right now. Kiss your children. Tell them you love them. I don’t care what age they are. I don’t care if they pull away from you ’cause they’re at that embarrassed stage. You squeeze them. You hold them. You guide them. You play with them. Each minute with them is a precious gift. Don’t you ever forget that.

21 Comments

Filed under Roadblocks

21 responses to “May You Rest In Peace, Sweet Boy

  1. Wow…such a terrible loss. The school Year just started, his parents must be utterly devastated. My condolences to your daughter as well for losing her boyfriend. My hope is that she’s able to fully recover from this over time, and move on.

    If she has any close girlfriends or cousins her age, you might want to let her be around them to vent her feelings for the next few weeks as much possible.

    It makes you realize how precious each moment of life is, each and everytime sudden life-altering events like these happen.

    If you don’t mind me asking, how did he die?

    May he R.I.P., and my deepest condolences to his family.

  2. Joe

    I’m so, so sorry. It’s such a horrible thing, and words can’t express the emotions involved. I lost an older brother when he was just 19, he died in a car accident. It truly made me appreciate every person and every moment in my life. It’s been 12 years, and not a day goes by that I don’t think about him and what his life could have been. I try to take everything he did for me and my family while he was here, and try to make myself better from what I learned from him. I went through a long phase where I was angry with God, and myself, and my brother, and anyone I could throw blame on. It’s so unexplainable and hard to comprehend. Again, I am truly sorry.

  3. I am so so sorry for the hurt, the sadness, and the empty sense of loss. Life is often not fair.

  4. Oh I am so sorry :(
    I will be praying for you and your daughter. I cannot imagine what you both must be feeling right now. The loss of life so young is always hard, but when that loss hits so close to home, it can be unimaginable.
    Keep on holding her tight!

  5. Thank you all for your kind words and condolences. This is a really rough time for us and knowing that others are keeping us close in their thoughts helps ease the pain. Thank you.

  6. I can’t begin to know what your daughter and you are going thru. I am so sorry. I’ll pray for you all to have the strength and support you need.

  7. Amen. And my thoughts are with you and your family.

  8. I am very sorry. There are no words to express your daughter’s grief or the instinct you feel to hold your daughter close in her time of need.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  9. I am so flattered and excited that you stopped by my blog. I only wish I could of met you on better circumstances. I am so sorry to you and your daughter. What a terrible loss for everyone. As a new mom myself. I am devastated and must go hold my son after typing this. Thank you for reminding me of what not to take for granted.

  10. Just when you thought you were on an even keel life drops a bomb. I am so sorry for your daughter’s loss and yours. There are no words adequate.

  11. This is dreadful. Any berearvement is devastating but the loss of such a young life seems so desperately unfair in the greater scheme of things and is a huge, huge shock to all involved. I’m so very sorry.

  12. I’m so sorry. This is every parent’s worst nightmare — it seems so wrong and unnatural. I wish you all hope and healing.

  13. I’m so very sorry. You all are in my thoughts and prayers.

    “Go. Right now. Kiss your children. Tell them you love them.”

    Our children need us. Parenting is so very important.

  14. LZ

    Oh no. I have nothing to say except I am so sorry for your daughter’s heartbreak and loss. I hope she can heal and move on as best she can. My thoughts are with that young man’ family…

  15. My gosh… I’m at a complete loss for words. I’m so so sorry. *hugs*

    You guys will be in my thoughts.

  16. I am so sorry for your daughter’s loss. For the boy’s family even more so, of course. {{{hugs}}} Some days when I think about all these bad things that are happening, I do want to wrap them all up in bubble wraps. At the same time, I feel especially guilty for making my parents worry when I was young and restless… Now I indeed know what they’ve been through, as cliche as that is…

  17. You are all so sweet. I’ve been fairly absent here the past few days (well, at least compared to my usual blogging time) and frankly, I’m a bit stunned that so many of you are still peeking in, and others leaving such sweet notes. I appreciate you all from the bottom of my heart. I am so touched.

    Update: #1daughter is still deeply grieving but she spoke with me for about 1/2 hr. this morning! Yay! This is an improvement over her nods and single word answers. The viewing/funeral/memorial service will all be taking place over the next few days.

  18. I am so very, very sorry. You’re so right about not knowing how much time we have with our children… we can’t forget to stop and smell the roses.
    -Jen

  19. ck

    Wow. I was stunned just reading this. I can only imagine what this week has been like at your house. I hope your daughter is doing better and that you’ve had more opportunities to talk.

  20. Thanks for the reminder to go hug my daughter because you are so right. I am so sorry for your daughter’s loss and pain.

Leave a Reply

