Daily Archives: May 18, 2010

Yes! Yes! Yes!

(The above title should be read Sally-style, as in “When Harry Met Sally.” Now, on with our regularly scheduled post.)

Today’s topic, for Momalom’s Five For Ten, is Yes. And while I have a wonderful interview with Aidan  Donnelley Rowley about her first novel “Life After Yes” planned for tomorrow…it IS Tuesday. Tunes for Tuesday, that is. So I thought a music selection for today would be appropriate. Plus, I like to tease. If you come back tomorrow AND comment, you might win a copy of Aidan’s new book. Something to look forward to….

I love the earlier groups. Progressive Rock.  The ones that shaped modern rock music. The layers and intricacies. Jethro Tull and the signature flute, The Beatles with their amazing lyrics and variety of sound, Queen with its use of classical voice and instruments, Pink Floyd’s reflective lyrics.

And Yes. Intricate harmonies. Fantastic instrumentals. I had a difficult time choosing a song. I spent much too much time listening to “I’ve Seen All Good People, “Roundabout,” “And You and I,” “Leave It,” “Owner Of A Lonely Heart,” “Almost Like Love.”

I settled on “Changes.” At this point in my life I’m going to ignore the stanzas that talk about lost love. I’m done mourning what was never there. Instead, I’m focusing on the chorus.

“Change changing places
Root yourself to the ground
Capitalize on this good fortune
One word can bring you round
Changes”

My grandmother was so afraid of change. She resisted. She denied. I’ve understood those feelings at many times in my life. But when you get stuck there….you’re just that. Stuck.

I prefer to move. I prefer to grow. I prefer to experience.

I choose to embrace change.

And by embracing change, I’m saying “Yes!”

(Stay Tuned! Tomorrow I’ll be featuring an interview with Aidan Donnelley Rowley from Ivy League Insecurities on her debut novel, “Life After Yes.” A copy of her new book will be awarded to one lucky reader!)

 (This post is part of the Five For Ten project at Momalom. Please visit their site for more wonderful posts on Yes. Or click the button below to find out how YOU can participate!)

20 Comments

Filed under Music