The Zen of Daylight Savings Time

Here I sit. Bleary-eyed. Unmotivated. Exhausted.

And it’s almost 11am. Gosh, I could swear it was only 10 o’clock. Where did the time go? (Bear with me. These jokes are going to continue for the next couple of days.)

I loathe Daylight Savings Time in the spring. Loathe it. I start dreading it. I try to prepare for it by getting to bed earlier and waking up earlier. It never works. (Although, I will say that since having kids I notice the effects less and less. Chalk it up to being perpetually sleep deprived.)

So imagine my surprise when the priest at mass Saturday night says, “I know you are all here this evening, but I invite you to join us again tomorrow morning for my favorite day of the year!”

Favorite? Did I hear wrong? My ears perk up. Because tomorrow is my least favorite day of the year.

“Trust me,” he goes on to share, “It’s a blast! Because at about 40 minutes into the mass, people start trickling in thinking they’re arriving early when actually they’re 40 minutes late. The expressions on their faces?  Priceless!”

I can only imagine.

I hate to be late for anything. I had to learn to deal with that personality quirk after children, however. It seems they have their own agendas when it comes to being anywhere – Toddler Time, I used to call it. Now? It has no name. Other than late. But I digress…

Whose brilliant idea was it to move Daylight Savings Time smack dab in the middle of flu and cold season? Certainly not a mother of small children. And explaining bedtime while the sun is still blaring outside? How do the mothers of Alaska do it?

I asked a friend how she felt about this time of year. Didn’t she just hate it?

“No,” she replied.

Oh, you’re one of those who think the extra hour of sunshine is worth it?

“Not really,” she said, “I just don’t have an opinion about something I can’t change.”

Oh, how very Zen of you.

Pfffft. I wish I could be like her. I really do. But no matter how hard I try I can’t get over the fact that I’m losing one whole hour of sleep, one whole hour of my life every single spring. Sure, I get it back in the fall (Hence, my absolute favorite day of the year. Ok, not absolute – but certainly in the top 10!) but is really worth all this trouble?

Daylight Savings Time was established to save energy. The theory is that taking advantage of the daytime hours we will all use less electricity. Go ahead. Google it. There are conflicting studies out there with regards to the validity of this theory. And many claim that there is little to no effect in any energy savings during this time.

Little to no effect.

I choose to believe those studies.

So, again, I ask is it worth it?

Silence.

Oh, I suppose all of you out there are so very Zen, too.

Sigh.

Well, I’m stepping off this path of enlightenment…

and going back to bed.

19 Comments

Filed under All In A Day's Work

19 responses to “The Zen of Daylight Savings Time

  1. Maybe it’s just me but Daylight Savings has never really bothered me. At least I’ll be prepared for when I have kids.

  2. Day light savings time is like the old Indian who cuts a foot off the top of his blanket and sews it on the bottom , to make it longer!!!

    I have no idea who said this but it makes sense to me!

  3. It messes me up for WEEKS. Every year. Dang, I’m getting old.

  4. Jayne

    Nope. It messes with my Zen no end. There has been talk of shifting the clocks by *two* hours here in the UK. Er…I think not thank you very much.

  5. Oh, your friend is very Zen. I have enough opinions on EVERYTHING to make up for her 🙂
    It never bothered me before this year, when a toddler with a way of losing his mind when naps change came into the picture. Ick.

  6. Our pastor usually begins his first service (9am) message the day after “spring forward” with a comment to look around, because “THESE are the people to call if you want things done!” Sadly, we are were not counted among those this year.

  7. I feel your pain, Jane…I’m not happy about losing that precious hour either!

    Wendy

  8. Daylight Savings never ever bothered me in all the previous years. But for whatever reason this year it kicked my …well ..you know what. I sat around on Sunday all messed up, tried to be productive. Went to the grocery store and came home getting ready to make dinner and realized it was already 3! I just never got caught up. And then I had to take a 2 hour nap at 5. Which seriously messed me up for going to bed at 10. Today I’m a bit better, but still not whole. Wonder why this year was so much more difficult. I’m hoping it’s not an age thing. Cause I won’t ever be any younger. Except maybe when we fall back later this fall.

  9. I hate it with the white-hot heat of a thousand hating suns. I used to be in the church choir, and we had to be there an hour early for eight o’clock mass on Easter Sunday, which when you factored in DST was just rude.

  10. You could move to the US Virgin Islands. They don’t do Daylight Saving Time. Smart people if you ask me!

  11. I hate it. Wasn’t this put in because it was useful to the farmers? And how many of us fit that description these days?

    Worse is that my wife’s car automatically adjusts for daylight savings. Great idea…or it was until they moved the date a few years ago. Now for about two weeks of the year it’s off by an hour. Even though we know it I can’t tell you how many times in that two weeks I go “What the!….Oh.”

  12. I wholeheartedly agree. I hate daylight savings time also. If I wanted to save daylight, I would figure out a way to do it on my own, thank you very much. I also hate, hate, hate being late for anything. I won’t watch a movie if I have missed even the opening credits. If you want to make sure at least one person will be on time for a party you have planned, then invite me and I will be on your doorstep as the coo coo begins chirping. Come to think of it, maybe I need to work on my flexibility a bit…..

  13. Your line “Oh, how very Zen of you” made me smile, and boy did I need that.

    Nope I can’t say it bugs me that much, but that doesn’t make me Zen!

  14. Naturally, I adore that extra hour in the morning in Autumn. But “Spring Forward?”

    Hate it. Hate it, hate it, hate it. In fact, I should have added it to my “bite me” list from a week or so ago. Very un-Zen Type A here. (Hate it.)

  15. Jane, move to AZ! Time doesn’t move an hour forward in the spring nor backward in the fall.

  16. DESPISE Daylight Savings.
    I don’t like the following word, but it applies: HATE.
    I hated it before kids and I double extra superduper special hate it now. It messes up their routines for at least a month. During standard time they go to bed and wake up 12 hours later (with several wakes in between, but whatever.) During daylight savings they go to bed and wake several times but get out of bed 11 hours later. Their bodies won’t get with the program.

    It’s funny that someone says they won’t get upset about something they can’t change. It would never occur to me that something stupid couldn’t be changed. Heck, even the Catholics dropped the meatless Friday thing and the Limbo thing.

    Every year I seriously consider starting a grassroots movement to ban Daylight Savings. As in, I’d run for public office on that platform, drum up money for that cause, and debate any willing person on the merits of reversing this b.s. waste of my life. We don’t need sunshine at 9pm. We need it at 6am when everyone’s getting ready for the day. The time changes cause accidents, lost work, and medical issues. Vote for me and we’ll abolish it.

  17. I’m still recovering. I do like the priest’s attitude towards it though…hilarious! I do enjoy it being lighter later.

  18. James Speeding

    Hi
    The extended daylight saving time in some parts of Australia and New Zealand and has affected mobile phones, computers, and other electronic devices, including major integrated telecommunication company Telstra’s speaking clock. Many clocks needed to be adjusted manually or via software updates from device makers.

    Mixed flight schedules and inaccurate transportation timetables have caused confusion among travelers, for both personal and business purposes, and regular commuters. The transport industry needed to take into account the costs for adjusting to new time schedules.

    Other complaints about daylight saving include the safety fears in the dark mornings, especially for school children waiting for a bus in some areas. Such concerns meant that there was no daylight saving time in 2008 for countries such as Guatemala. The government placed the safety of those who went early to work or study, stating that if daylight saving was implemented, they would be leaving their homes in the dark, the time when crime was at its highest, putting them in potentially dangerous situations.

    In countries such as Iraq, there are those who believe that life is less complicated without daylight saving time, thus minimizing confusion and interruption associated with time, including changes to schedules and food preparations.

    Farming groups have also expressed anti-daylight saving views, saying that daylight saving time had a significant adverse impact on rural families, businesses, and communities. There are also those who express health concerns linked with daylight saving time.

    Thanks

    James

Leave a Reply

