What My Blogroll Says About Me

When I first started this business of blogging I was enamoured with the blogroll. My blogroll. Other blogrolls. You could say I became blogroll obsessed.

If I enjoyed another writer, I’d scan their blogroll to see who they thought was interesting. Sometimes I’d like their recommendations. Sometimes I wouldn’t. Sometimes their blogroll was full. Other times there were just a few destinations listed. And sometimes, a blogroll was nowhere to be found.

I’ve come to the following (inaccurate, I’m sure) conclusions…..

1. If the blogroll is chock full I’ve either come across a writer who clearly has so much more reading time on their hards – I could never compete. OR it’s full because they’re just a girl (or guy) who can’t say no and lists every single person that lists them on their blog.

2. If it’s a trim blogroll, I’ve discovered a writer who is a) discriminatory – in a good way. OR b) incredibly lazy. (Oops. I think I’ve just discovered my category. One guess, people and I’ll give you a hint. It isn’t a.)

3. Those without a blogroll? I have no clue. But I do know that when I can’t find a blogroll listed on a writer’s blog that I enjoy? I’m disappointed. I like to see who they are reading.

When I first began blogging, I admit to having  a touch of blogroll diarrhea. I added every single blogger that: amused me, touched me, interested me, encouraged me, challenged me. If they added me to their blogroll, I felt obligated to add them to mine. If I wanted to be on their blogroll and wasn’t, I added them to mine and oh-so-gushingly told them so in an email (hint, hint intended.) Yes. I even grossed myself out. That phase was, thank-you-God, short-lived.

When I came to my senses, I realized that I appreciated other blogrolls that seemed to have truly similar quality or content or inspiration. I trimmed mine down to the nubs.

Then, life hit me full force. I’ve neglected my blogroll, as well as my blog. And I’ve neglected many of you. Not by choice. By necessity. (I’m treading water here, people and the waters seem to be getting deeper and murkier.)

So my blogroll remains very trim. Very, very trim. I can’t remember the last time I added someone. Although I have trimmed a few. Abandoned blogs, mostly.

In my blogroll-obsessed days, I kept a list of bloggers who had me on their blogrolls. I was/am touched, of course, that someone deems me blogroll worthy. I continue to keep the list – as incomplete as it is – so I can check in and read and comment – especially if I haven’t seen you in a while.

I was doing this exercise, fairly recently, because I missed Blog World but didn’t have anything I wanted to share on my own blog. I started visiting my list – checking in and catching up with you all. And I noticed, a few of you have dropped me from your blogrolls. (And by you, I don’t mean you, because after all, if you’re here and you deem me blogroll worthy – I’m probably already there. I mean the yous that have dropped me. And by yous, I don’t mean youse – that’s a part of the Northern US vernacular that I just don’t get.)

I’ve been dumped.

I’d be lying if I said it didn’t matter to me. It does. Especially one in particular. So I wrote this one in particular and I haven’t heard back.

I guess it was something I said. (See? I know some of you don’t believe me, but I do, indeed, tick people off with what I write here. And I’m wallowing in such crap now in my real life that I just want to say – Go buy a thicker skin, people! Life is too freakin’ short to worry about the inconsequential opinions I dish out.)

My blogroll is trim because I’m blog-lazy and my life is full. I should add a few of you and I’ve been meaning to get to my blog-keeping chores but instead, I keep adding more bricks to that road to hell….unintentionally, of course.

To any of you who feel you should be on my blogroll, applications will be accepted on Tuesdays from 12:00pm-12:01pm. Forms should be submitted in triplicate, handwritten in blue ink and delivered by carrier pigeon.

My blogroll is a work in progress. Some days I work on it and most days I forget it’s there.

If you want to be seen on my blog? I’ve found that particularly witty comments garner the most hits.

Just sayin’.

27 Comments

Filed under Blogging

27 responses to “What My Blogroll Says About Me

  1. Shitfire. You just reminded me that I haven’t updated my blogroll since I changed to WordPress. Like, forever ago. Chalk me up in the lazy category, too.

    • Shitfire is exactly right. I have neglected my blogroll to the point where some of the listed blogs have STOPPED blogging. A little outdated!
      I fell into the Too Nice To Say No category after FP. I had a lot of people openly informing me that I was being added to their blogrolls, so I felt oddly obligated to add them, ALL of them. I’m just starting to weed through them, really leave my consistently favorite blogs listed, and I’ve hurt some feelings in the process. One blogger specifically e-mailed me to inform me that since I had failed to add her to my blogroll, she would be confiscating a self-made Blog Award she had given me. Yikes. And. Crazy.

  2. I have an ex who writes a motor sport blog and the only things in his blogroll are things that he writes himself…. and the only other things that he advertises are things that he writes himself…no one else gets any sort of recommendation whatsoever. I thnk he’s worried about competition. I’m so glad he’s an ex!!

  3. I guess I’m one of those people who falls into the category in #1…I have a lot of people on my blogroll, but I don’t add anyone without careful consideration (and most people I add have been on my reading list for a while before I add them!). My standards are pretty high…while I love promoting my favourite bloggers, I don’t want to direct people to anyone who can’t write!

    I hope your life settles down soon…the tea is always on in Hammond River for you, Jane!

    Wendy

  4. How quickly would you fall over if I actually sent my application to your house in blue ink via carrier pigeon at noon tomorrow? It would be so awesome I’ve got half a mind to do it!

  5. My blogroll used to be set up for my own reading. I added bloggers to my blogroll instead of subscribing. I’ve been trying to remedy that a little bit at a time. But it’s been slow going since I’m lazy as well.

  6. I subscribe to most of the blogs I like and offer my blog roll as a shout out to most of the blogs I read. Its a cornucopia of different types of writers and products I like. .
    I can’t ever imagine removing a blogger from my blog role unless they corrected my spelling. Sometimes, I forget tho or fall into the lazy category.

  7. So…. I see I’m not on your blogroll. Hmmm….. Well, Jane, you’ll stay on mine. Because I like your style. By the way, my blogroll is for me. Anyone is welcome to peruse it, but I like to keep up on the ones that interest me. And you? Lucky you… you’re one of them. 😉

  8. I was so afraid to click this post. Seriously. Whew! Praise the Lord, I’m still there.

    You, of course, are on mine, and always will be. 🙂

    I have to admit, like you, I obsessed over my blogroll, too. You make many good points. I think your observations are spot on. And I’ve been meaning to revisit my blogroll in the near future, too. Usually a listing in that very limited space means I have a very special place in my heart for them.

  9. I left a comment on your post earlier, but all my comments this morning went into the spam file…the problem seems to be solved now.

    Wendy

  10. After reading this post, my blogroll needs some attention. I definitely fall into that lazy category…

  11. I’m one of those who don’t keep a blogroll. And you mentioned the very reason I don’t…I wouldn’t likely want to remove someone even if I no longer read the blog. I don’t pay attention to blogrolls but find myself checking out a blog by a comment the blogger made rather than whose blogroll lists him/her. I do keep a rather extensive lists of “favorites” so I can find the blogs I want to check. But it’s there only for my own benefit.

  12. I don’t have a blog roll. I guess I just never really thought about it.

  13. Jayne

    That word ‘Blogroll? I *really* dislike it. I don’t know about over there but here in the UK the toilet is very occasionally referred to as ‘the bog’ and so toilet paper is ‘bogroll’. Consequently, there is something very unpleasant to me about listing friends on ‘blogroll/bogroll’!

    List them I do however…from time to time…to time. I use a reader for the blogs I visit and I’m so lazy about my actual blog list that I had to just check who’s on mine. I see that I’ve listed someone twice! Hah!

    I can’t be doing with all this back slapping I’ll- do-you-if-you-do-me malarkey either. If I like someone, they’ll generally know about it because they’ll see me popping up in their comments.

  14. You’re a blogroll philosopher! I love it!

    Like most, my blogroll has had different characters, but to be frank, it’s become my own convenience. The sites I visit most often, and I way to get to them quickly. No doubt it could do with some cleanup, but I suspect I’ll take care of the messy fridge and stove before I get to that.

    (Meanwhile, it has some nifty french sites on it – you should check them out!)

  15. If I deliver my application by Owl Post instead of carrier pigeon, would I still make the cut??

    PS: Please tell me you read Harry Potter, or else I look lame-o. =>

  16. Darn, darn, double darn! I sent my carrier pigeon out on a mission a couple of days ago and he hasn’t gotten back yet. I fear he may be lost. But then, my pen with blue ink has disappeared too. Life is just not cooperating!
    As to maintaining a blogroll, I get lazy too. I did remove a few who are no longer blogging a few weeks ago, but I just looked at it (which I don’t do very often) and see it could stand some revamping. Any day now. Then again, I think my Google Reader subscription list could use some revamping too.

  17. I was just thinking I need to update mine—badly!! But don’t have the time… 😉

  18. When I redesigned my blog (nice way of saying upgraded to self-hosting) I buried my blogroll on a separate page. No idea why I did that, but that’s where it’s stayed. And Yes, Jane, you are there. 🙂 It’s called Break in the Day Reads because that is so much more what it is. It’s my sanity during the day’s stress and I look for reasons to take a break! As for submitting my application to yours, um…I’ll have to just take my chances with the snarky (I mean witty) comments. Just throwin’ that out there.

  19. OMG. I’ve been thinking for weeks that I have to revamp my blogroll. I just keep neglecting it. But you might have seen my blogroll, and then you would know why I’m dreading retooling it. Ugh. And don’t get me started on cleaning up my blog a bit.

  20. What’s even more annoying than a blogger not having a blogroll is a blogger who doesn’t seem to want you to subscribe to their blog, you trawl all over the page and there’s no subscribe button anywhere! Grrr, I’m so sorry that I did think that you were interesting/funny/clever whatever, fine then, I’ll go away now then. 😉

  21. Interesting post. I don’t have a blogroll mainly because when I started my blog, I had a particular kind of following, and I didn’t want to be pigeonholed into one category.

    I often think I now should have one, but I know I’d end up feeling I had to list everyone who comments on my blog, and to be honest, they may not all be from bloggers that I enjoy that much. Does that sound bad? You are definitely not one of those btw. I wouldn’t have written that if you were.

    Also I tend to use my sidebar for other stuff, but saying all this I really do appreciate the people, you included that have my blog listed. I do get traffic from other bloggers, and I should return the favour.

    Actually, I think it’s quite a telling fact, the people that do list my blog because I don’t fit into a nice box do I? So I think that anyone who lists my blog is a very special person, who is open minded and unique themselves. And I really mean that.

    So thanks Jane. 🙂

  22. I guess the appliction deadlines gone!? Dare I ask how many pigeons you SHOT down before they got chance to reach you? 😉

    I love looking at people’s blog-rolls – and occasionally clicking, because it gives you the chance to discover new blogs, photorgaphs and glimpses into people’s lives…even if you intend never to click on them again. But then, that’s how I discovered you…and many other great cyber friends. You’ve remained on my blogroll list ever since.

    I think I use my blog roll mainly as a reading list for myself – but if it also happens to act as a signposting service for other people to discover other great blogs that I enjoy – then that’s also cool 😉

Leave a Reply

