Yell At Me, OK?

(To celebrate her high school graduation, my daughter and I are on a little hiatus together. A mother/daughter hiatus. I will be posting some of my favorite posts in the interim. Enjoy!)

I love words. I love the sound of certain words. I love the way words string together and mean so many different things. My husband calls me The Queen of Syntax. He complains that I get lost in semantics.

So, sue me. It’s my character flaw.

And I own it.

The other day my husband took a quick break from doing yard work and said to me, “I have Tai Chi class at 7pm. I’m not finished in the yard.  Could you yell at me at 6?”

Ummmmm. Sure.

At the appointed hour I stood on our back porch.

“Hey!” I yelled, “I’ve asked you a hundred times to put the suitcases in the basement! And your tools have been sitting on top of the dryer for a month! Put them away NOW, you slob!”

He doubled over in laughter.

(Oh no. What will the neighbors think?)

7 Comments

Filed under funny

7 responses to “Yell At Me, OK?

  1. This was very funny and very clever. Who cares what the neighbors think! I appreciate semantics but you take it to a whole new level.

  2. Very astute. So witty and funny. I love words, too.

  3. Chuckle chuckle! That brought a Saturday morning smile to my face. I have a kid just like you – another syntax guru.

  4. So funny…the thing is, if it was here, I’d MEAN it! 🙂

  5. I found your blog because you left a comment at Korean-Adoption. I love that you love words and I love that you’re with your daughter. Today, over at The Lit Pub, I’m talking about daughter-loss and mother-loss, about adoption, about being adopted, about a book that was written called The Chronology of Water that I would love, really really love, if you came to talk about with us. Please consider stopping by The Lit Pub — it’s a place for readers and writers and everyone who loves words.

    Today’s post is here: http://thelitpub.com/chapter-one-the-chronology-of-water/

  6. Now that’s a marriage!

Leave a Reply

