We All Deserve A Round Of Applause

I’ve been a crappy blogger lately. Awww, who am I kidding? I’ve been a crappy blogger for months now. I can’t keep up with you all. I can’t keep up with my own writing.

But I’m hanging in there.

And even though I thought I had nothing to say this evening, I decided to peek in on you all. Well, maybe not all of you — I’m one of the lucky ones who has more followers than I deserve. Let’s just say, I began with the intention of peeking in on you all but then I got inspired and it turned into looking in on you some. (Does that even make sense? I didn’t think so.)

I started looking around and reading and musing and even made a few comments. And I discovered something really wonderful.

We’re all still here!

We made it!

We still have blogs and we’re still writing and we’re still reading and conversing.

We’re holding on.

Some by a thread. (Me.) Some with a sturdy grip. (The rest of you.)

But we’re still here.

I’m so impressed. And so happy to know all of you.

Some of you have given up on me. And that’s ok. I probably would have given up on me, too — except I have privy knowledge of the crazy goings-on in my head and if I were you, I wouldn’t want to miss out on the amazing blog posts soon to come. But it’s your choice to bail. That’s what makes this country great. Don’t worry. I don’t hold it against you.

But most of you? You’ve stuck around! To my amazement. You still peek in here from time to time to see how I’m doing. And I’m touched. In awe. And so appreciative.

For that, I applaud you, dear readers. For your perseverance when even I didn’t seem to have any.

Most of all, I applaud YOUR longevity. In a world where blogs last a mere 18 months or less, you and I can proudly say, We Made It!

Stand up.

And let’s give ourselves a round of applause!

 

16 Comments

Filed under Blogging

16 responses to “We All Deserve A Round Of Applause

  1. Unless you’re writing professionally there is no need to bang out copy – so take your time and write when you are feeling creative. Go and do things that nourish your soul and make you WANT to write – and then come back.

    But don’t take too long – ‘cos we’ll miss your particular view of the world 🙂

  2. Found your circumstances and perspective encouraging. Seems my “life” interferes with my writing and photography (such as it is for my and mine’s pleasure). Self imposed deadlines, expectations and perfection is never satisfied! Enjoy your weekend!

  3. I started my blog a little over a year ago, and have been hanging on by a thread for about, oh…a year. 😉 Thanks for the encouragement.

    Looking forward to your future posts!

  4. In the beginning I felt guilty when my blogging became erratic. I finally worked through that and now I write when time permits and I feel like it. That works so much better for me. As to popping in on you, Google Reader does such a good job of keeping track of when my favorites post a new blog. Saves me from having to remember.

  5. I have been a dedicated ‘blog a week’ blogger for so long that my entries began to suck big time. Then I figured the world won’t blow up if I just blog when I felt like it. That is the place to be. That is the place you are.

    Hugs.

  6. I think I may be approaching the 18-month mark exactly. I have fallow periods, but I don’t feel in danger of becoming an ex-blogger. So that’s nice. I’ll wait.

  7. Write when you are inspired Jane. There is a freedom in embracing that philosophy. As one of your loyal followers, I know I will still real whenever you are ready to write.

  8. On you crappiest day – you’re still a great blogger!

    (Enjoy your holiday weekend!).

  9. Well I, for one, will wait until you feel like writing and won’t feel bad if it takes you a few days or weeks. Because you’re a great writer and always entertaining and insightful.

  10. Woohoo! We are TOTALLY still around, still going strong, and still writing, even if we sometimes take breaks.

    I’m definitely going to stick around as a reader, Jane, *even* though you haven’t visited me lately :P. No, no, honestly though – I enjoy your writing, and I’m leaving you right where you are on my subscription list so that I can keep reading this blog ^_^.

  11. Jane, you’re so cute. I can’t wait to read all those posts rattling in your head.

  12. I’ve been having a tough time blogging recently Jane, well just writing, full stop. Not sure why, just that real life saps the energy out of me sometimes and the last thing I feel like doing is writing a blog post, but I really didn’t want my blog to die on top of everything else.

    I think we’ve all done well to keep on going like this, so yeah we do deserve a round of applause!

  13. Oh dear! I’m at that 18 month stage….hopefully once I get my act back together…I’ll be posting with avengence!

  14. It’s obvious that I can either read and comment on the blogs I love, or post on mine. It’s becoming increasing hard to do both! Which is why you probably will get many comments from me this morning as I race through my list. I agree, applause for all of us still hanging in there!

  15. It’s funny isn’t it how we can be so enthusiastic about blogging for ages and then for some unknown reason it just all dries up. I used to be pretty fanatical about writing my own blog and reading others but these days I find that I am far more sporadic on both counts. I’m not sure if I’m jaded with the whole thing or just busy….answers on a postcard please….

Leave a Reply

