Jane’s True Confessions Or Secrets That Aren’t Secrets Anymore

1. I have pre-dated posts  in order to create certain patterns on my homepage calendar that highlights post dates. (For any fellow OCD bloggers out there, this sentence makes perfect sense.)

2. I let the television babysit my children from time to time. Ok. More often than I’d like to admit. (Wait. I just admitted it, didn’t I?)

3. Yep. I’m that lazy mom that forgot to send in the two dozen baked goods, individually wrapped, for the Fall Festival this year. And not for just one kid. For two. Yep. That’s me. Oh. And I didn’t sign up to volunteer for the booths, either. (What is wrong with me?)

4. Oh, yeah. And I’m also the mom that forgot to send $1 with my kids to school for Hat Day raising money for Breast Cancer Awareness and Research. (Boy, I suck.)

5. I throw together a bunch of pre-prepared stuff (canned soup, frozen vegetables, grilled chicken in shrink-wrap packages) and pass it off as homemade to my husband and call it one of my creations. (God, I hope he doesn’t read this!)

6. I have regrets. I wish I didn’t. But I do. And I can’t seem to shake them off. Like #7….

7. I really messed up. I wish I could do it all over again, but I can’t. I’m so sorry I xxxxxxxxx. I didn’t mean to xxxxxxx. But I did. And for that, I’m truly sorry. (I’m so glad I got that off my chest.)

8.  My teen thinks that I don’t know things that I do. She forgets that I was a college freshman once, too. Yep. I know what is going on in your dorm room, on the weekends, in and out of class. I know. And I’m not saying one thing. Nope. Nada. Nothin’. My lips are sealed. I can play dumb like the best of ’em.

9. I hide my favorite ice cream (Ben & Jerry’s) on the second to last shelf of the freezer. Hidden under bags of vegetables.

10. I love all the faithful, amazing, wonderful readers I have out there who read me more than I read them. I haven’t been much of a reader lately. My life has been a bit topsy-turvy. But I love you all, just the same.

Ok.

That wasn’t much of a confession.

But I had to say it.

I do.

Love you all.

10 Comments

Filed under Completely Random, Deep Thoughts

10 responses to “Jane’s True Confessions Or Secrets That Aren’t Secrets Anymore

  1. Love to you too Jane. Sending you positive vibes. Hope whatever is happening will pass very very quickly. xoxo

  2. Sorry things are topsy-turvy, hope things settle soon. Hugs! 🙂

  3. Jane! You have to share the “saute onions” secret! It’s genius! Love you, kid.

    • Oh. It’s so easy. Pick a recipe, any recipe, that involves sauteed onions. Put olive oil and a pat of butter in a pan. When the pan is sizzling, drop in a sliced or chopped onion. Saute slowly — allowing its scent to permeate your kitchen. Then, cook the rest of the recipe. I’ve also been known to just toss the onions if I don’t need them, using them just for their aroma. Along with the other cooking smells, your home is filled with a homey, comforting scent that you’ve been slaving in the kitchen all day long. And if you’re really sneaky, bake one of those Pillsbury “home baked” breads from a canister. Just remember to bury the canister deeply in the trash.

      It works like a charm!

  4. Them’re the secrets that are fine to have. Or to share. Last night’s dinner in our house consisted of frozen and instant. Husband said it was a “great” dinner. And when I chop and dice and peel and simmer he says it was “okay”. Obviously frozen and instant is the answer!

  5. #7 and #8 are awesome, especially #8. It took me becoming older than my mom was when she had me to realize that my mother knew all along what I was going through, but still let me make my own mistakes. You are a great mom, despite having forgotten the baked goods and $1 hat day thing. Trust me!

  6. Love you too Jane! Haha. And I do that too, the dinner thing that is. I detest recipes because I never have enough of a key ingredient. But randomly throwing various cans & bags of things together into a dish, baking it at 350 & topped with cheese makes a lovely casserole 🙂

  7. I hide my Ben & Jerry’s in the freezer under veggies too! A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

  8. Regardless of any of this your kids love you. Which makes you a very very very successful Mom.

Leave a Reply

