A Blogger’s Law of Averages

1. Half of the blogs out there boast an average of 100 – 249 words per post.  I average about 400 – 600. Hmmmm, seems I’m above average.

2. The average blog reader spends about a minute and a half at your blog before moving on. That’s a lot of speed readers out there.

3. The average lifespan for a homosexual is between 43-46 years of age. Ok. I’m not going to even credit the source because their statistic is surely faulty and full of garbage. Let’s just say it popped up when I was searching blog lifespan averages and out of curiosity I clicked on it to see what the bozos are talking about. I can’t believe there are people out there that believe this crap.

4. Two thirds of all bloggers are male.  Another site claims 51% are male. Not in my world. I have a feeling we women are gaining on them. And I’m sure all three of my male readers will attest to that.

5. Bloggers that describe themselves as “snarky?” 16%. I must run in the wrong circles. ALL of my blogging buddies are the sweetest, most wonderful people I know. I’ll bet they don’t even know what snarky means!

6. The average for blog updates is 2-3 times a week. Good to know. When I started, I gave myself a goal of 6 times per week. I’ve adjusted that to 5 times per week. Lately, I’ve been considering just 4 times per week. Looks like I’m well on my way to becoming a statistic.

7. “Fewer than 10% of bloggers say they don’t know the traffic to their blogs.” Now THIS I believe. Especially with how many posts I see out there lamenting on how they’re embarrassed to admit that they envy other popular bloggers, or posting tips on how to receive more comments, increase traffic, etc. Sometimes I think blogging only enhances our insecurities.

8. The average age of a blogger is between 25 and 44 years of age. Oh. My. God. I am officially an old-timer!

9. Do a Google search about “blogs about nothing” and you will receive 223,000,000 hits. That’s an awful lot of people hanging on Seinfeld’s coattails.

10. There are more bloggers out there obsessing over their statistics than I ever  imagined. And after reading their exhaustive research I’ve decided I don’t want to become one of them. I enjoy writing for me. And when it pleases you, too, all the better!

(Interesting sidenote: while researching for this post I found myself very disappointed in the availability of “current” information. All of the above data is from 2005-2010. I wouldn’t even read a post if it was published over 5 years ago. That was TOO old. Sign ‘o the times, eh?)

28 Comments

Filed under Observations

28 responses to “A Blogger’s Law of Averages

  1. Great post, Jane! I loved the statistic about the homosexuals… Guess I should tell my aunts that they should’ve been dead a few years ago. Oh, and also all my mom’s gay friends in their sixties. Wow, what a world…

    I also feel that most blogs I know are neither snarky nor written by men. I don’t know why that is.

    And… well, I get the feeling of “oh noes, not enough people are reading my blog” but that’s probably partly because I happen to have blogging buddies who are very popular and have lots of traffic. But like you say, blogging and writing is a personal thing, and shouldn’t be only for other people.

    Seriously, great, fun, awesome post ^_^.

  2. Ahem. I am one of the 16% who admit to the snark.

    WTF about the gays? That’s just odd.

    And I’m really trying to become at peace with 3 posts a week, in a desperate attempt to save the remaining sanity I have.

  3. I used to post more often, but have been a bit lax of late. I agree with you about writing a blog for yourself and if others like it, all the better! AND sometimes I do Google searches just for the fun of it. Love the statistics you found…I think I fit into a couple of those.
    🙂

  4. #7—yeah!!!! I think it can make you crazy to try and obsess over stats and who’s reading…I write for me too!! But I do love comments, I’m not going to lie!!! Makes me feel less alone over here. 😉

  5. Hmmmm…

    1. I’m far below average there.
    2. Only if you’re interesting will I pause. And your “above average” posts merit pausing.
    3. Good to know. I think.
    4. I agree with you; a tiny minority of “interesting” bloggers are male. Maybe it’s all the boring blogs on politics and technogadgets that are male?
    5. Yeah… snarky. I’m more sarcastic and bitchy. You’re just real and funny. It’s why I keep coming back.
    6. So glad I’m average. 😉
    7. Yeah, I don’t know this either. I probably don’t need any more fuel either for this neurotic narcissistic personality here.
    8. Average again.
    9. Hmmmmm
    10. We have stats??!! Where?!

    I enjoyed your post today about “nothing”. 😉

  6. ck

    Fighting…the urge…to become…a statistic!

  7. Yikes! Most of my posts are 700-800 words. Am I boring people? I had no idea I was so lengthy by comparison. Perhaps I should wrap it up a bit sooner? Hmmmm. Certainly something to ponder…

  8. unabridgedgirl

    Snarky? Really? That was a statistic? LoL I love the word, though! What an interesting list, too.

  9. You go, girl! Finding a posting frequency that feels manageable is what makes the blogging sustainable and keeps it enjoyable, I think. The fear of losing readers because you’ve reduced the frequency of posts seems logical but silly at the same time, no? I’m glad you write for you 🙂

  10. I love you all! I have the best readers ever. YOU make ME laugh and think and ponder. So glad you’re here!

  11. Clever idea and funny title! loved this. Especially #6.

  12. Wow, these are all really interesting! I may have to do a post on being snarky, if only because that word is so fun to type, read, and say out loud. Snarky, snarky, snarky. Ha!

  13. Very interesting! I had gotten to a point that I was really stat-obsessed for awhile but I managed to get over it somehow!

    When I first started blogging, I did it ONLY when I felt the urge to blog. Then I started to blog a few times a week – then I stupidly signed up for Nablopomo last November and promised to blog every single day that month, and I did it (even with a trip out of state and an emergency stay in the hospital!). Blogging every day for a month taught me something… I want to blog because I want to blog, not because I HAVE to blog – I doubt I’ll ever commit to a daily post again, though I have recommended it to others who are first starting up their blogs and want to increase their traffic.

    Sorry for all the rambling! lol

  14. Fascinating, really! And the homosexual stat? Crazy! I’m definitely heading toward the stat for posts per week. With all of the other (better) blogs out there… I seem to be reading more than writing!

    Thanks for keeping us up to date!

  15. My posts tend to be longer too. Writing shorter posts seems like a great idea – less time! – but it never seems to happen that way.

  16. “Sometimes I think blogging only enhances our insecurities.”

    I completely agree with this! I have to work on insecurities that have come along with blogging just as much as my other insecurities in life… but I’ll still take the bad that comes with the good, because when it comes down to it I’m so in love with blogging 🙂 (today anyway… ask me tomorrow and I could feel differently…)

  17. suzicate

    Apparently, my posts are way too long. I have not found all those male bloggers…I’d say it’s two thirds females. But whatever the stats, I post as I feel like it which seems like it will be less with all this gorgeous weather around the corner!

  18. Oh Jane, you are well above average in every way that counts!

    And I hear you on the slow creep to becoming a statistic in terms of posting. Four times a week is looking better and better, isn’t it? 🙂

  19. Average age 25 to 44? So if I’m way older, does that make me above average? Or unique? I’ll take unique.
    I too write for myself, but must confess to taking great pleasure in my 90 seconds of fame when I get a comment from someone I don’t know. Which is rare. I started blogging to keep in touch while my husband and I were on vacation, stopped for a couple of months and then started again when my daughter and I went to Korea to visit my son. And now I blog mainly to satisfy myself.

  20. Thanks again for a wonderful and informative post! You always bring out interesting emotions in me.

  21. I need this post. I’ve been a little obsessive about stats and comments, the blogging world serves as new way for self doubt. Thanks for reminding me of why I blog – To write for me!

  22. Snarky? Must be an Americanism! Up until now (and without tempting fate) I haven’t had any snarky comments…maybe my blog is too saccherine…as to the rest of your points – 43, 200 ish words when I can’t quite be bothered, no real idea who is reading it until some random person that I’d NEVER have thought of says ‘really enjoying your blog’ leaving me gobsmacked (Englishism). I think that as long as we’re all enjoying the writing, ‘meeting’ nice people and not getting strung out with the stats, than we’re doing ok!

  23. Nicki

    Jane – I love your posts on blogging, whether your stats or stats in general. Must be the mathematician in me. I, though, seldom look at my stats. Maybe I should. Hmmm, 🙂

  24. Okay, here goes:
    1. Yes, we all agree you are well above average! 🙂
    3. The Internet is nothing more than an electronic graffiti board. Reader beware.
    5. Um. I do know what snarky means. I can and sometimes do show my snarky side, but only when necessary. I blame my time spent in advertising.
    6. With life moving at the speed of light, I’d be thrilled to get in 3 posts a week right now.
    7. I agree! Sometimes I spend waaayyyy too much time trying to track how many daily visitors I have. Like that stat is some kind of validation. Geesh.
    8. I bet I have you beat in this stat.
    10. Refer back to #7.
    I think I have a long way to go before I’m in the same league as the bloggers I read and enjoy. But I hope to get there someday. I’m just still undiscovered. Thanks for your posts. I look forward to reading them all the time.

Leave a comment