Bad News Is Free. Good News Comes At A Price.

When I was in college, I read at least 3-4 newspapers a day. Not cover to cover. But yes, I scanned 3-4 daily. The college paper, the local paper, the larger state-wide paper and a large city paper like the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, or The LA Times. I loved getting different viewpoints on various topics. I thought I wanted to be a journalist someday.

Fast forward to 2010, and we don’t even have a newspaper subscription anymore. I get all my news from the internet. I have a number of large news organization pages bookmarked. And, of course, I read what pops up on msn.com and yahoo.com.

Most of it is depressing. Just tonight (the night before you’re reading this) I saw the headlines for: 4 Decapitated Bodies Hung From Bridge in Mexico, Mosque Dispute Sparks NYC Rallies, and Iran unveils “Ambassador of Death” Bomber.

Drugs, dissent and destruction.

News isn’t news unless it’s negative. Where is the good news? Where are the uplifting stories of the other 98% of the world population?

Google to the rescue!

The Good News Network! I read about how Ethiopia has “halved malaria deaths in just three years.” Or about the Good News reporter who believes he can randomly point his finger at a page in a phone book, call the person and find an inspiring story. There’s a story about an “army of good Samaritans” or a forestry hero.

Excited, I clicked on one of the stories of interest.

I was directed to a subscription page. For just $24 or $47 or $97 a year (you pick how much you want to send them) you, too, can hear about all the good news going on around the world.

Sigh.

Apparently, bad news is free.

Good news comes at a price.

21 Comments

Filed under All In A Day's Work, Observations

21 responses to “Bad News Is Free. Good News Comes At A Price.

  1. I just took a look at The Good News site and admire the ingenuity which went into creating it. If I only had the time to read and kind of news updates I’d seriously think about subscribing to it!

  2. I love the idea of a Good News site. That you have to pay for the good news is not such good news. You do make me laugh.

  3. Obviously they also see a need to share the “good news”. And they see a public need to hear it. And a way to make money. I wish I had thought of this. 😉

  4. I agree with Winn…another one of those ideas I didn’t get to in time. I’m willing to make up good news for a fee — wonder if that would work?

  5. We could ALL contribute to a FREE GOOD NEWS site! 🙂

    • This is a great idea, everyone! We could create our own Good News website! (Between making lunches, changing diapers, laundry……wait. Maybe this isn’t as feasible as I thought.)

      • But if we all did an article or two a week, I think it would be doable. OR we could scan the news and create links to good news articles we found.

  6. I, too, used to be a “news junkie.” I still keep up to date with world affairs and local news via CBC Radio, but no longer read the newspaper every day. My time is limited, and reading about horrible things doesn’t fit into my schedule! I’d much rather fill my hours with things that make me feel good! By the same token, I have completely stopped watching dramas on TV…I have enough real-life drama going on!

    Wendy

  7. Your description of this “good news” website had me ready to click on the link and bookmark it for everyday reading until I got to the money catch .. wow, those are high prices. Making a buck off good news is sad … but, I bet a lot of money will be made .. people are craving good news.
    Have you noticed how other media outlets provide good news only quickly, usually at the end, like an after thought?

  8. Sometimes it’s a little annoying when our local news covers some silly feel-good story, but it’s better than the alternative or so I remind myself.

  9. I signed up for the free 30 day trial. I’m easy.
    Good News is a hard sell. When we have a school PTO meeting..parents never show up during the good times. If I want to draw a crowd I promise juicy, scandals, and fiscal irresponsibility.
    Not sure if I will pay $2.00 a month, but like I said I’m easy.

  10. Hmm, I wonder what would happen if they started charging for the bad news too. Which would people pay more for? (We all know how irresistible scandal can be …)

  11. Craziness! Good news should be free too!

  12. Jane, I wasn’t aware of this site. And you have to pay for it? What is the world coming to?

  13. We no longer get a newspaper – our local paper seemed to never have any news, but had no shortage of errors that a proof-reader should have caught. We don’t watch news on TV – Hub says it’s depressing, and he’s not wrong. I get news on the internet, which I pick through and read what I choose to read. I read Newsweek every week – but probably will not renew our subscription. I don’t want to bury my head, but I don’t need to be inundated by negatives either. I’ll have to check out the Good News network and decide whether I want to pay for it or not. Wonder if it could become contagious – wonder if our major networks might decide to spread some good news?

  14. We still subscribe to two daily newspapers–the local paper and the New York Times– and reading them in the early morning hours while the house is silent is one of my treasured times each day.

    I can take the bad news if it’s actually news… it’s the sensationalist, dumbing down stuff that drives me nuts. If I had to get my news from local television, I think I’d be a raving lunatic by now.

  15. Ha! Apparently good news is so good you have to pay for it. : )

  16. Holy moley…now that’s pricey! Just do what I do and don’t get any news at all!!! 😉

  17. When I was very young we would be left to play outside, and out of sight, for hours. In fact my mother would leave us in the stroller outside to get some fresh air.

    If you tried that now you would be arrested for endangering a child (see the blog FreeRangeKids for examples).

    But has the world really changed that much? My assumption is that the vast majority of people are “good people” – but we are all so scared by the one-sided news that we no longer trust anyone. It’s very sad.

  18. Awesome! I totally wish I could have that phone book inspiring story job!

  19. thank you for sharing the good news — free!
    i hope good news will leak as quickly as bad news so we don’t have to pay for it 🙂

Leave a comment