Top 10 Reasons Why I Hate Western Medicine

10. It’s a necessary evil sometimes. My husband practices Tradition Chinese Medicine (TCM). He is amazing at what he does. Why is he so amazing? He’s just THAT good. BUT, he also recognizes when Western medicine is necessary. I was raised in a Western medicine family. It’s all I knew until I met my husband. I have a love/hate relationship with Western medicine. I call it a necessary evil  because of the following….

9. My appointment is the first one of the day and I still have to wait 40+ minutes before anyone sees me. Overbooking is rude. I know you have no-call-no-shows. I realize that emergencies arise. But when I wait that long. Every. Single. Time.  My time is valuable, too. It’s annoying. It’s more than annoying; it’s expensive.  And my sitter doesn’t appreciate it, either.

8. I’m just following doctor’s orders. Don’t shoot the messenger. I needed to drop off lab results that I’d had a few weeks ago. The doctor told me to come in the next day. She told me the time to be there; when  she first arrives in the morning. She wanted to take a look at the previous results and see if other tests needed to be ordered. Plus, she wanted to see how I was doing on my new meds. (I wasn’t doing well.) So, I asked to have a minute to speak to her. Nope. I got the eye roll from the front desk and was told to fill in a “Patient Walk In” form and she would call me later. She has a very busy schedule. (What was I thinking?)

7. It was the lab tech’s idea. I promise!  When the lab tech saw what I had written about the side effects I was experiencing she offered to see if my doctor had a minute to speak with me. The nurse came in and snipped, “If you need to speak with a doctor, you’ll need to make an appointment for sometime today. And we can’t guarantee you’ll be able to see Dr. X but we’ll make sure you see someone.” I told her to forget it. If Dr. X had time to call me, I’m sure we can handle it over the phone. Sheeesh.

6. Fox News on the waiting room TV. (Need I say more?)

5. They refuse to call you by the right name. If they could give you a number, they would. My son’s name is four names long. First name. Second name. Third name (his Korean given name) and last name. We go by second name. It’s a family tradition. Plus, it alerts you to when telemarketers are calling. When you fill out the medical forms, they want the child’s legal name. No matter how many times I circle his second name or tell the front desk what he likes to be called they insist on calling over the loud-speaker “James Lastname to room #2.” Who the heck is James? Oh, yeah. That’s us.

4. The doctor will be with you in a moment – but first, how are you going to pay for this? I know it’s their job. And there is nothing wrong for getting paid for doing good work. But I hate how the front desk accost me every time to make sure my insurance is up to date and the forms I have to sign every, single time stating I’ll pay them if insurance doesn’t. Money first, healing second.

3. The germs. Everywhere. I’m a bit of a germaphobe. I cringe thinking about all the dirty door knobs, armrests, magazines. You know, the stuff they probably don’t sterilize. Ewwww.

2. Everyone loves an instant fix. It’s what you do best. But what about the fact that I’m also not sleeping or crave sweets or am overly sensitive to smells. Western medicine tends to look at individual symptoms and not the whole person to see what might be related. And then they treat each individual symptom, cluttering up your medicine cabinet. TCM considers the whole. I love that.

And the #1 reason I hate Western medicine….

1. The cost. It’s huge. It’s gigantic. For me. For all of us. But for that, I fear we have insurance, malpractice and lawsuits to blame. I’m not going to pin that one on the doctors. Well, not all of them, anyway.

12 Comments

Filed under Soapbox

12 responses to “Top 10 Reasons Why I Hate Western Medicine

  1. Only 10?

    Much as I despise the cost (your #1), I am equally (or even more?) concerned with the uneven quality. Doctors who never so much as touch a patient, ask more than two questions, and wouldn’t know the art of diagnosis if it smacked them in the face.

    Thank goodness for those rare occasions when we encounter real physicians who understand the importance of talking, listening, and touching. And certainly, our current health care environment doesn’t make it easy for them.

  2. I had to make an appointment with a Romanian pediatrician for my daughter a couple of weeks ago. I called him on his cell phone. His phone. Within an hour, he was at our house. Our house. He talked with us, he talked with and examined her, and he talked with us some more. He charged us 26 bucks. 26 bucks! I was amazed and thrilled and flabbergasted and seriously ticked off at American health care. Why can’t we do it right??

  3. We could do better. It’s just become such a money game.

    Why don’t you go to a TCM practitioner? Can they help with your concern?

    • I have. And it has helped with most of the symptoms. But there’s this one nagging/uncomfortable annoyance that Western medicine is best at helping. So we’re working on it. But thanks. 🙂

  4. I have a bigger beef with insurance than I do with the medicine. I’ve been lucky so far with doctors. It’s the damn insurance that gets in the way.

  5. A good doctor is worth their weight in gold, so grateful that we have a great GP. 🙂

  6. I so totally agree with you

  7. Nolan Arnold

    I really don’t think you hate western medicine, as much as the procedures that it takes to make an appointment or see a doctor. By the way, I mean this in the kindest way possible so please don’t take this as an insult. It is just my personal opinion.

  8. Krissy

    Hehe I’m an evidence based person…

  9. jj

    Quit complaining. We live longer than ever because of Western Medicine. People like you have no idea how good you have it. Complain. Complain. Complain. All women do.

Leave a Reply

