Daily Archives: October 23, 2009

Chocolate Cake for Breakfast, Lucky Charms for Dinner

The other night was just one of those nights. Pick up kids from school. Go to bank. Pick up milk. Race home. Feed kids. Get back in car. Pick up daughter from practice. Go to parent meeting. Race like a madwoman from one place to the next.

Now, I knew the schedule beforehand. I knew it would be tight. I also knew that the parent meeting would be right in the middle of dinner hour and would probably run longer than expected. And wouldn’t you know it, my husband had to work late.

We had plenty of leftovers in the fridge. And that’s when the lightbulb went off.

“Guess what boys? It’s opposite day. And today we’re going to have dinner for snack and snack for dinner!”

“Huh?”

“Today, when we get home we’re going to eat dinner for your afterschool snack. And then after mommy’s meeting we’re going to come home and have any kind of cereal you want for dinner!”

“ANY kind?”

“Yes.”

“Can we have Cocoa Puffs?”

“Yes.”

“Or Lucky Charms?”

“Yes!”

“Mom! You’re the BEST!”

You see, we don’t eat sugaredĀ cereal for breakfast – at least not on my watch. The sugared cereal is reserved for snack after school or for dessert. They were practically racing into the house to put away their jackets and shoes. They washed their hands at record speed and hurried to the table for their ‘snack.’ I heated up the leftovers and they ate heartily. I smiled at my brilliance.

We picked up my daughter. She watched the boys while I attended the parent meeting for her team. And then we went home.

“Can we have a really, really big bowl?”

“Sure!”

“Thanks, Mom! I can’t wait to tell my teacher I had Lucky Charms for dinner!”

Uh-oh.

I didn’t think of that.

And then I remembered the Bill Cosby skit about chocolate cake forĀ  breakfast.

Enjoy your Friday funny!

16 Comments

Filed under children, funny