Daily Archives: January 19, 2010

Top 20 Songs Played On My iPod – Or, I Got Nothin’ For Tunes For Tuesday

I’m exhausted. And a little behind in Blog World (sorry, friends! I promise to play catch up this week). For all my “I’m going to nurture my blog relationships” post yesterday and then I go MIA? I know, I’m lame.  But I’ve been listening to my iPod a ton lately (even though I haven’t added a song since August because my computer crashed and I’m too scared to sync it up, afraid I’m going to lose all my songs even though my teenager tells me there’s a way to do it) and I was curious what my top songs were. Some surprises, some not so much. You decide.

20. The Way I Am – Ingrid Michaelson – Such a sweet, happy song. And my husband does. Love me the way I am, that is.

19. Honey, I’m Home – Shania Twain – I think this song is hilarious. It is the song I want to sing after an especially long day.

18. Life Is Beautiful – Six:A.M. – No surprise here. If you remember, I used this video for a “Tunes For Tuesday” post. But then, Big Brother snuck onto my site and pulled it from my blog and slapped on a neon sign (ok, it wasn’t neon but it felt neon) claiming I was in violation of Blog Music Video posting laws. Even though I credited the group. Even though the YouTube logo was emblazoned in the corner. Even though I don’t make a dime from putting it up on my blog. I was so embarrassed (see here for my plagiarism rant – awww, I just noticed it was my very first post. Ahhhh, memories.) I not only deleted the video, I deleted the entire post. Miss Rule Follower not following the rules? I don’t think so.

17. Shut Up and Let Me Go – The Ting Tings. Love, love, love the catchy beat. The sentiment. I could have sung this song at various times in my life. Many times.

16. Old – Paul Simon – I listen to this song about 100 times right around my birthday. It puts the day in perspective for me.

15. Elevatin – Wired All Wrong – Turn this up and blast it while I’m driving. One of my favorite driving songs.

14. Breathe Me – Sia – Hauntingly beautiful. I had a heart scare a few years ago and was hospitalized. My daughter told me she put on my robe and listened to this song over and over curled up on the floor of my closet. I hope I never scare her like that again.

13. Father and Daughter – Paul Simon – I adore this song. It wraps up the feeling I have for my children. I just wish I had the kind of dad who would want to sing this for me.

12. Walking On Air – Kerli – Weird. I didn’t think I listened to this that much but it’s that quirky, off-beat, alternative stuff I like – so I guess I’m not that surprised.

11. Be OK – Ingrid Michaelson – This song gets me out of any bad mood. Any. A simple request for the day, “I just want to be OK today.” Love it!

10. Seasons of Love – Rent Soundtrack – 525,600 minutes in a year. Really. The OCD math teacher in me actually double checked. This song helps me to slow down and savor the moment.

9. Dela (I Know Why The Dog Howls At The Moon) – Johnny Clegg – More quirky fun music that puts me in my happy place.

8. As – Stevie Wonder – One of my absolute, favorite Stevie songs. Hands down. Fills me with such joy. I send it out to all those that I love.

7. Psycho – Puddle of Mudd – Dedicated to my mother. ‘Nuff said.

6. Coming Undone – Korn – My angry song. Played only when I’m alone in the car and can blast it as loud as I want.

5. America – Simon & Garfunkel/ At Seventeen – Janis Ian – It’s a tie. And both songs are  from my childhood. Cool. Two more hauntingly beautiful songs.

4. Home – Marc Broussard – I love his throaty, deep bluesy voice. And the “mostly” a cappella section always gives me a chill. I heard it first on The Sopranos. Loved it. Downloaded it. And listen to it. All. The. Time.

3. Without You – Rent Soundtrack – Just a song that touches me in a special way regarding the losses in my life (read here). It’s like they took my exact thoughts and put it to song.

2. Keep Breathing – Ingrid Michaelson – Can you tell I’ve been on an Ingrid kick lately? Love her!

And the number one song on my iPod – no matter how hard I try not to keep it there? Seriously. I’m embarrassed that this continues to be number 1. Are you ready?

1. White and Nerdy – Weird Al Yankovich – My daughter introduced us to this song because it reminds her of my husband/ her step dad. I remember the day we all sat around the computer, watching the video and cracking up. I almost peed my pants. We are a family with lots of laughter and teasing – so no one out there should feel sorry for my husband. He can dish it, too, believe me. And his is, well, white and nerdy. #1son requests this song all the time and knows the words by heart. It’s hilarious watching him be-bop and lip sync this song. Absolutely hilarious.

There you have it.

My top 20.

For now, anyway.

13 Comments

Filed under Music