It’s A Little Too Little, It’s A Little Too Late

“It’s a little too little
It’s a little too late
I’m a little too hurt
And there’s nothin’ left that I’ve gotta say
You can cry to me baby
But there’s only so much I can take
Ah, it’s a little too little
It’s a little too late” – Little Too Late written by Alex Call, performed by Pat Benatar
 

I saw a little bit of President Obama’s assurances to the US public that BP would get their comeuppance. 

NBC news

I wasn’t impressed. 

I wanted to be. 

But Mr. President? 

“It’s a little too little. It’s a little too late” 

Oh, sure. You get tough now. A week after BP CEO Tony Hayward started circulating his commercial apologizing to those affected by the disaster and pledging to clean up its mess. 

Photograph: Suzanne Plunkett/Reuters

 I’m so disappointed. 

In BP. In our President. In politics and big business. 

This is a horrible mess that affects so many lives and livelihoods and precious resources and beautiful wildlife. This apology and tough love is coming a little too late. 

And it smacks of politics as usual. 

(Don’t forget about our commencement speech challenge on Friday. To learn more click here!  And I discovered the prize on subWow’s blog Absence of Alternatives. Cool shirt and a great cause! See you Friday!)

11 Comments

Filed under Soapbox

11 responses to “It’s A Little Too Little, It’s A Little Too Late

  1. It’s especially disheartening since there are Belgium and Dutch skimmer ships ready and willing to come help, but have not been called because their process doesn’t meet US standards! So it’s okay to leave the oil in the water, but not use a skimmer that would pull most of it out? Huh? What am I missing? I agree with you. Very disappointing.

  2. Agreed.
    Why trust them to do the right thing when they haven’t proven they even want to, let alone can?
    Why wait so long to say, “Damnit, you’re not going to run this. We will. And you’ll pay.”

  3. angelcel

    Well we obviously haven’t heard his address but this morning’s news here in the UK at least stated that he said it was time to look at alternative energy sources. And allelujah to that…but then as I indicated last week, I’m now very cynical about government and their attitude to the environment.

    Forgive me, he’s your President and I don’t want to insult anyone, but it strikes me that he is on a typical politician’s c.y.a. exercise – no doubt scared that he will be tarred with the same brush as Bush for the way he handles a national crisis. I understand the BP big guns are in the White House today – they have just 20 minutes allotted with the President – so I’m assuming they’ll get a real drubbing. What that will actually achieve however is anyone’s guess as we’re almost *2 months* down the line and the well is still spewing oil out into the ocean. It seems obvious that no one has a clue what to do about this – and I come back to my comments last week. Why? If you care about the environment you need to think, and plan, for the unthinkable.

    I hadn’t heard about the skimmer vessels (Lisa’s comment). You have to wonder what planet these people are on, if help is available but not being used because of the usual bureaucratic claptrap.

    It’s all too frustrating.

  4. Hmph. Politics. Blah.

    I think that just about sums up how I feel- if not eloquently, then at least succinctly!

  5. Nicki

    I am so disappointed in both BP and the administration on this issue. What is being damaged can never be fixed. I couldn’t even bring myself to watch the address last night.

  6. Like Nicki, I couldn’t bring myself to watch it either. The fact that the Dutch offered to send their skimmer ships two days after the event and the government still won’t suspend the act that prevents them from coming into our waters coming makes me so angry. Even Bush suspended the same act within days after Katerina to get international help. How messed up is that?

    It makes me so angry at BP and the national government. Too little too late is right.

  7. I know it’s a complicated mess, but I, too, have wondered what has taken so long for someone to do SOMETHING. Anything.

  8. Obama has one challenging job. There are a lot of issues to tackle, and a lot of people who’d like those issues to remain. Politics is much like a battle upstream, I think.

  9. Right?
    Part of our (US) problem is that we have weak corperate laws and weak regulation. If we want to be serious about fixing this, we need to get to the root of the problem. Reform campeign financing, toughen corperate laws, and regulate industries that can affect people’s health. And with any luck, we get really moving on this green energy movement.

  10. I agree. The whole thing is sickening. And it’s taken way too long for anything to get moving at all. Meanwhile, the earth is being desecrated and we all sit back and watch. Myself included.

Leave a comment