Operation Beautiful Dot Com

Cammy, over at Classroom Confessions, pointed me into the direction of this site and I love it. It must be shared with you all! About a week ago, in my post about the media/modeling industry and our standard of beauty, I quoted Kate White at Cosmo who said, “Women have to complain and then back it up with their actions — with their pocketbooks”  Well, here’s another thing we can do!

At Operation Beautiful they are encouraging you to end “fat talk one anonymous post-it note at a time!” As a parent of a teenage daughter and a six year old son that has started asking if certain foods will make him fat I’ve become acutely aware of how my own self-image challenges the people around me. Fat talk is all around us. We can stop the cycle at home but here’s an opportunity to stop it worldwide. Every little effort is like a ripple that will spread.

Please check out this worthy cause and get involved. I’ve already put my post-it pad and pen in my purse. I’m starting today!

11 Comments

Filed under How We Roll, Self Image

11 responses to “Operation Beautiful Dot Com

  1. Yay! Can’t wait to see pics of the notes you leave! It really does make you feel good to know that someone will find your note and that it will hopefully brighten their day. Good Luck 🙂

  2. Jane, this is fantastic! Thank you for letting us know about the website. I am going to try my best to let as many people know about it as well. I hope it catches on like a wild fire. I am packing post-its in all my bags now! btw, I can’t believe your s yo boy asked you the same thing! Mine asked, more than once, will this make me fat? And he hardly eats anything. He would even sometimes pinch his own belly and say, I don’t want to be fat. Omg. I think I need to go write a post instead of going on and on here, being a comment hog, again. Sorry. You make me think. You inspire me. To be a better person. As always. You are beautiful. Inside and out. You know that, right?

  3. angelcel

    What a wonderful idea this is and I’m so pleased you pointed me in the direction of this site. This deserves to catch on – Big Time!

    On another matter entirely …I don’t see an email address for you here. Would you mind emailing me? I wanted to have a word with you about something – nothing ‘heavy’ or sinister, I promise! You’ll see my email address over in the right hand column of my site. Cheers m’dear. 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing this. I have a son and weight doesn’t seem to be an issue, but I do have nieces and it always shocks me to hear 6 and 7 year olds talking about their weight. Very sad.

  5. Thanks for sharing,. I am going to check it out now.

  6. What a great header! I just made a wreath by super gluing candy corn all over a styrofoam circle. It makes for a fun fall wreath. Operational beautiful is such a good idea.Thanks for sharing!
    Kasha

  7. It drives me nuts to hear women putting themselves down in front of their daughters. Our kids learn body image from magazines, movies, and television, but first from US.

    This looks like a very cool project. Thanks for sharing the site.

  8. Such a great idea. Now, if only I could rewire my psyche not to send myself the fat messages all day long!

  9. This is really important.
    Good for you!

  10. I’ll definitely check it out. It is so scary how early kids seem to know about what being fat even means these days. And sad, too! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a comment