Strong Marriages and Strong Role Models

I think providing a good example is one of the supreme responsibilities of our leaders. Say what you will about the last presidency, I think the strength of their marriage was evident. One of the things that I admired about President Bush and First Lady Laura was their strong commitment to each other.

gwbush

And from the looks of it, President Obama and First Lady Michelle and going to give us more of the same.

 3005164406_46e20a06f7

Here’s to strong marriages and strong role models!

20081110_obama_whitehouse_33

9 Comments

Filed under Soapbox

9 responses to “Strong Marriages and Strong Role Models

  1. Boy that is a statement. But if you look at the two pictures closely you will see one big glaring difference. The Bush’s look like they may have started sleeping in separate bedrooms, like many older couples do, while the Obama’s look like they are having foreplay while dancing.

  2. Steven Harris

    Reagan and his hairpiece slept in different bedrooms too 😉

  3. You all are too funny! Please don’t blame the pictures – it was all I could find of the two couples dancing. I just used them to illustrate my point. And Steven – I think you’re right about Reagan’s hairpiece! Note how I didn’t use that marriage as an example. I was talking about strong marriages that appear genuine.

  4. Wow. That’s very bipartisan of you.

  5. Those are some very sweet photos of them.

  6. Joe

    I think you can find out a lot about a man by looking at his wife. That whole, “Behind every great man is a great woman” thing, or however it goes? I don’t care what our society says, women have so much behind-the-scenes power, it’s not even funny. Who’s going to prevent the President from looking like a jerk? I’d say the First Lady.

  7. I can’t find anything negative to say about Laura. The fact that she also has to put up with Barbara already earns my admiration from one woman to another woman.

  8. It’s nice to see strong couples when so much of the “media” is focused on who’s cheating on who, who’s leaving who, who’s divorcing.

Leave a comment