My Daughter And Locks Of Love

Before our team made it to State Championships my daughter and her friend made a bet. If they made it to finals my daughter would cut her hair “short.” My daughter has gorgeous, thick hair. That she loved wearing long.

They made it to finals. So, she made good on her promise.

This is before:

And this is after:

And because she cut off at least 10 inches she donated her hair to Locks of Love, an amazing organization that provides hairpieces for children suffering from any medical hair-loss. I love the sentence they have in their opening statement on the website: “The prostheses we provide help to restore their self-esteem and their confidence, enabling them to face the world and their peers.” 

I’m so proud of my daughter that she, during her self-esteem and confidence building years, gave this precious gift to another child. I won’t lie. She was anxious, nervous and then took a few days to grow into her new look. But now she loves it and her self-esteem is a little pumped knowing what she helped to give someone who is struggling with their appearance.

They don’t just accept hair. They accept financial contributions, too! You can write a check (like I did.) Or make an online contribution. Or you can become a volunteer. Or you can support other companies that donate part of your purchase back to Locks of Love. There are many ways to help. Please take a few minutes to check out this amazing organization.

20 Comments

Filed under Be-Causes

20 responses to “My Daughter And Locks Of Love

  1. What a wonderful gesture and a wonderful daughter.

    Can I say that I think she looks even more beautiful with shorter hair. 🙂

  2. suzicate

    What a beautiful and gracious daughter you have! Tell her your cyber friends are proud of her, too. My sister does Locks of Love also. I can’t ever seem to let mine get that long without going crazy first!

  3. She is special, like her Mama.

    And because she has such a gorgeous face, I actually prefer the shorter hair.

  4. She’s beautiful…long or short hair! What a GREAT gift!!!

  5. This is so wonderful and your daughter is GORGEOUS! I can’t believe I’ve been reading your blog all this time and didn’t know how pretty she is. From what you have told us of her, she seems very mature for her age and I think this incredible gift highlights that.

  6. I think your daughter is very mature and courageous for her age. Most girls that age don’t even THINK about someone else unless it’s to gossip about them. You raised her right! I also do Locks Of Love. I’ve donated mine 3 or 4 times I think. It takes several years to grow it out long enough to do it so it kind of runs together! I was a little worried this last time because I thought I was getting too gray but they assured me they just pull the grays out and sell them. Cool beans! Tell her she is AMAZING!

  7. This is absolutely sensational! Your gorgeous amazing daughter, clearly a teenager (!) is doing something so pure and giving! On top of that she is just so pretty and full of light. You are teaching her well, for sure. Good Mama!!! I am so afraid of what will happen to us when my kids are teens….and its rather far away right now since they are 3! But this gives me great hope!

  8. That is beautiful. And how gorgeous is she? Dude, you are so screwed! 🙂

  9. unabridgedgirl

    1. She is so pretty! 🙂

    2. I am glad she donated to Locks of Love. I donated a few years ago. They cut off twelve inches of my hair. It was fun.

  10. That cut suits her so well, and what a generous gesture!

  11. She looks stunning! A beautiful gesture from a beautiful girl.

  12. Locks of Love is an amazing organization. I have friends who grow out their beautiful hair just to cut it and donate it to Locks of Love.

    Your daughter is beautiful and she did a wonderful thing by donating locks of her beautiful hair. Her new shorter-style looks really good.

  13. Your daughter is beautiful – inside and out. Just like her mama!

  14. What a wonderful cause, and how gorgeous is she!?!

    She looks beautiful with long and short hair.

  15. My daughter has done this a couple times; her hair grows so fast.
    Your daughter is beautiful and so is her hair. Both ways.

  16. Congratulations on making it to the finals. Congratulations on doing such an awesome job with your daughter. Congratulations on your daughter being such a gorgeous, intelligent, wise, and kind person. Congratulations on so so many things!

  17. angelcel

    What a wonderful gesture from a beautiful girl 🙂

  18. She’s so beautiful, Jane, and her new hairstyle is rockin’!! And kudos to her for her donation!!
    -Jen

Leave a comment