Daily Archives: February 1, 2010

Alone For Seven Days? Where Do I Sign Up?

I took the Meyers Briggs Personality test years ago and found out I was introverted. Me. Introverted. I know. I was surprised, too. I had lots of friends. I was never at a loss for words. I can hold my own at a party. Need me to speak in front of a large group? I’m your (wo)man. 

The following day I shared this surprising news at the faculty lunch table. Our school counselor was there and she set me straight. She asked, “You have a choice – you can join your friends for a huge party, lots of people where you’ll only know your friends  OR you can stay home a read a good book?” I chose the good book, of course – thinking it was because I loved reading. Then she asked, “You just got home from a really fun party. Are you energized or exhausted?” Exhausted. Isn’t everyone?

Apparently not. And apparently, I am introverted. And a bit shy, I discovered.

While preparing to sit down and write today I came across this writing prompt: “Write about 5 things you would do to entertain yourself if you did not see a soul for 7 days.”

Oh. My. God.

Not see a soul for seven days? My heart went pitter-patter.

And just 5 things? Are you kidding?

Ready. Set. Go!

Read, blog, clean, organize, surf the net, catch up on TiVo, rent movies, garden, cook, bake, read some more, do laundry, repaint the banisters, update the photo albums, take more pictures, learn how to use my Blackberry (which is wasted on me because I only use it to call people and text), sleep, give myself a mani/pedi, soak in the tub refilling it with hot water over and over again until my skin is wizzled, play piano, sing, listen to music, download more music, do yoga, take naps, clean out closets…..

That’s, like, 25 things and I’m just getting started. I didn’t even stop to breathe typing that list.

I don’t know about you but I treasure a quiet house. When my husband asks me what I want for my birthday or Mother’s Day I tell him, “Take the kids somewhere, anywhere, and let me be in the house all by myself. For hours. And hours. And hours.” He says, “No. Really. What do you want?” So, of course, it never happens. It would be a nice birthday gift but I’d feel too guilty actually doing that for Mother’s Day.

The life of a hermit or recluse fascinates me. I often wonder what it would be like to pack up a few treasured belongings and go off to live in a cozy one room cabin in the woods. You have to hike in from the main road. A stack of books. A journal. A trowel and good potting soil. Sturdy hiking boots. My camera. Of course, this fantasy never involves dangerous animals, life threatening weather conditions or Deliverance characters. Just me and a friendly doe that visits me in the evening and the blue bird perched on my window sill to wake me in the morning.

But I love my kids. My husband. My life. So, it’ll never happen. But a girl can dream.

And I’m so intrigued by the above writing prompt that I don’t even know where to start. Am I in my house? That cozy cabin in the woods? Is this a scene from the Will Smith movie I Am Legend? Do I have to hunt my food or am I well stocked? Can I leave the house and still not see anyone? Or can the setting be at a gorgeous beach resort, all my needs are met, and I just don’t have to engage with anyone? (Now THAT’S a vacation I’d love to take)

So that’s me. Introverted Jane.

Who treasures a quiet house and gets positively giddy at the thought of being alone. For seven days. Without seeing a soul.

And a To-Do list a mile long.

22 Comments

Filed under Observations